Additional collections

Introduction

We provide access to a large number of additional collections covering a wide range of topics, some of which have a fascinating history.

A diverse range of collections

The additional collections complement our valuable holdings of old books and the general collection, which contains a broad and comprehensive selection of literature. Here you will find a diverse gathering of libraries that were formerly independent, such as the North America Library and the study library on the history of the labour movement. We also administer libraries that have been deposited with us, such as the library of the Swiss Alpine Club SAC and the Fennica collection of the Friends of Finland.

Baltica

Celestial phenomena over the city of Wenden near Riga. The coloured woodcut dating from 1573 illustrates the ZB’s Baltica collection.

Our Baltica collection is all about Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. Explore over 5,000 titles about the Baltic at the Zentralbibliothek.

Baltica collection

Our Baltica collection is one of the largest in the German-speaking world. It focuses on literature from Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. We acquire works in the national languages as well as German, English and French translations. Other key areas of the collection are:

  • Literature and linguistics
  • History and regional studies
  • Culture, art and music

Baltic special collection area

At the instigation of the Gebert Rüf Foundation’s Swiss Baltic Net, our Baltica were defined as a separate collection area in 2001. Since then, more Baltica have been added, sometimes through gifts. Over the past century donations, bequests and academic publication exchange have helped to expand our collection.

Special Baltic-related materials

Our holdings of Livonica consist of titles on the historical Latvia and Estonia, including valuable printed works from the 16th century. Another focal point of the Baltica is music. The collection documents, for example, the influential role of Richard Wagner in musical life in Zurich and Riga. We also acquire sheet music and audio media.

Baltic literature in Zurich

There are few centres of Baltic writing and literature about the Baltic in the German-speaking world. Zurich is one of them, along with Münster, Greifswald, Munich and Göttingen. We also acquire the following materials about Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania:

  • Travel guides, atlases and maps
  • Electronic media

Borrowing from the Baltica collection and contacts

The Baltica are catalogued in the Rechercheportal. Help us expand our Baltica collections: send us your suggestions for acquisitions. The collection is administered by Marija Simasek (Latvia, Lithuania) and Mirja Lanz (Estonia):

Library of the Swiss Alpine Club SAC

The print “Das Leiterflühli” from the book “Doldenhorn und Weisse Frau” (1863) is part of the SAC Library’s holdings on the history of mountaineering.

Covering every aspect of alpinism, from past to future, the central library of the Swiss Alpine Club SAC is aimed at all alpinism enthusiasts.

The SAC Library: mountains and mountain sports

Established in 1890, the library of the Swiss Alpine Club SAC is all about mountains – and, of course, mountain sports. Covering everything from hiking to skiing, and mountain biking to novels set in the Alps, the SAC Library is one of the largest of its kind in the world, comprising some 60,000 books, journals, maps and panoramas. We also hold specialist publications on avalanches, high-altitude medicine and nutrition for mountain sports.

Current hiking and climbing guides

Interested in climbing routes in southern France? Planning a hiking tour in the Dolomites or a ski tour in the Silvretta? The SAC Library’s main geographical focus is on the Swiss mountains and the eastern and western Alps, but we also offer guides to other mountain sport areas in Europe as well as mountain ranges on other continents.  

Special area: the history of alpinism

From Karl Spazier to Ueli Steck, one of the SAC Library’s special areas is the history of alpinism. Our holdings include sources from 1750 to the present day, including accounts of first ascents, portraits of alpinists and publications on the development of mountain sports in individual regions. Our collection of historical maps and panoramas is unique.

History of the SAC Library

The SAC Library was established in 1890 and deposited with what was then the Zurich city library. In 1917 it moved, along with the city library, to the newly founded Zentralbibliothek Zürich. The SAC Library’s remit has always been to supply literature about alpinism to a scientifically minded audience. As the SAC’s central library, it covers every part of Switzerland, thus reducing the workload of the SAC’s section libraries.  

Finding and borrowing books from the SAC Library

Services and contacts 

  • Looking for a publication that we don’t have? Suggest an acquisition.
  • Have a question or need assistance with your research? We’ll be happy to offer you free advice. Arrange a one-to-one advice session or for the SAC Library, contact:


The Russian Library Zurich

Some items from the Russian Library Zurich (RBC) at the Zentralbibliothek Zürich

The Russian Library is a gem, and a first-hand record of Zurich’s history. Discover Russian literature, culture and history at the Zentralbibliothek.

Russian Library Zurich – holdings

The Russian Library contains 6,000 monographs and periodicals, all indexed under “RBC”. Russian fiction from the 19th and 20th centuries, translations and exile literature form the core of the collection. Other focal areas include:

  • Literary, cultural and intellectual history
  • Biographies, memoirs and regional studies
  • Teaching materials and children’s books

History of the Russian Library Zurich

In 1927, Russian-Swiss citizens and Russian émigrés founded the “Russkaja biblioteka v Cjuriche” association, funding a politically independent library from their own means. The association was dissolved in 1983. The library was donated to the Slavic Studies Department of the University of Zurich, and in 2002 the Zentralbibliothek took over its holdings. The RBC collection has now been completed.

Special features of the Russian Library Zurich

Our Manuscript Department contains the archive of the Russian Library, including the original card index of the 883 members. Letters, files and minutes attest to the association’s extensive activities. All materials are indexed as “Ms. RBC”. The Manuscript Department of the Zentralbibliothek will be happy to provide further information.

Searching, borrowing and contacts

The RBC is catalogued in the Rechercheportal. The filter “ZB, Russische Bibliothek Zürich” will help to narrow down your search. New works on Russian language and literature are acquired by the Slavic studies section. If you have any questions contact the Russian Library Zurich:

Screenplay collection of the Zentralbibliothek Zürich

From “Die letzte Chance” to “Wolkenbruch”, the Zentralbibliothek’s screenplay collection reflects the diversity of Swiss film production.

In association with the Swiss National Film Archive, the Zentralbibliothek Zürich is assembling a collection of Swiss screenplays. It also includes scripts for documentary films.

Screenplays in the Zentralbibliothek

The Zentralbibliothek has been collecting Swiss screenplays and scripts for Swiss documentary films since 2006. By spring 2019, over 3,500 screenplays from the holdings of the Mayor's Departement of Zurich, the Zurich Film Foundation and the Swiss National Film Archive had been made ready for use. The collection is being continually expanded.

Every film needs a screenplay

Screenplays are a literary genre in their own right. In Switzerland, however, they are rarely published and are often forgotten once a film has been completed – despite the fact that they are part of the nation’s cultural heritage and a basic resource for research. The Zentralbibliothek aims to prevent Swiss screenplays being forgotten and, to this end, has been collecting them since 2006.

Explore screenplays yourself

You can easily find out online what Swiss screenplays and scripts for documentary films the Zentralbibliothek holds. Enter “MFSD” in the search box of the Rechercheportal. To search for screenplays by a specific author, include their name as well.

Viewing and working with screenplays 

Screenplays are manuscripts and are subject to copyright. They will be supplied to you as microfilms for viewing on request in the reading room of the Music Department. For further information contact our specialist Irene Genhart:

Fennica

Finnish literature in the Bibliotheca Fennica at the Zentralbibliothek Zürich.

Welcome – tervetuloa – välkommen! In the Bibliotheca Fennica you’ll find the latest Finnish literature as well as Finnish films and books about Finland.

Fennica holdings

The Fennica is the largest Finnish library in Switzerland. Some 8,000 titles and 300 DVDs are available. We acquire fiction and children’s books in Finnish and Finland Swedish as well as German translations. The Fennica includes non-fiction on the following subjects:

  • History and regional studies
  • Language and literature
  • Culture, music, architecture and art

Why the Fennica exists

Reading is as integral to Finnish life as having a sauna. So the Finns who emigrated to Switzerland from the 1950s onwards needed a Finnish library. From Kaurismäki and Muumi to Mannerheim, the Fennica’s collection has been accumulated since 1955 by the Swiss Association of the Friends of Finland (SVFF) and is also the association’s library. In 2001 the SVFF donated Fennica to the ZB.

Finding and borrowing Finnish books

  • All Fennica titles can be found in the Rechercheportal.
  • A regular workshop offers tips on searching for the Fennica (in German).
  • The collection is housed on level P - 4 of the ZB and is freely accessible. The ZB’s conditions of use apply.
  • Here is the list of new Fennica acquisitions.

Who we are and how to contact us

The Fennica library committee is responsible for selecting the titles. The SVFF’s members have been financing all Fennica acquisitions with their membership fees for the last 60 years. If you have any questions or need information contact Mirja Lanz, who is responsible for the Fennica at the ZB:

Oskar R. Schlag Library

A highlight from the Oskar R. Schlag Library: The Invisible College of the Rosicrucian Brotherhood

The Oskar R. Schlag Library is a specialised library on all areas of esoterica and related fields. It was originally the personal study library of esoteric researcher Oskar R. Schlag and comprises over 25,000 volumes, some of them rare. The holdings can be requested online by all library users.

All sub-areas of esoterica

Would you expect to find literature on astrology, apparitions and Satanism in a public academic library? You can at the ZB, in the form of the Oskar R. Schlag Library. This extensive private library was donated to the Zentralbibliothek in 1990 and has been progressively expanded ever since. The collection includes rare documents from the 17th and 18th centuries. Its main focus, though, is on works from the 19th century onwards on all sub-areas of esoterica.

Fields covered by the Oskar R. Schlag Library

  • Alchemy, magic, manticism
  • Secret societies (Freemasons, Golden Dawn, Rosicrucianism, Theosophy)
  • Mythology and symbology
  • Parapsychology, Spiritism
  • Oriental, Jewish and Christian esoteric traditions
  • Esoteric fiction

Even more esoterica in the Zentralbibliothek

In addition to the Oskar R. Schlag Library, we hold other materials on esoterica, parapsychology and occultism. The Special Collections and general collection also contain historical and current literature on these subjects.

Oskar R. Schlag Library

bibliothek.schlag@zb.uzh.ch

North America Library

American and Canadian literature in the North America Library of the Zentralbibliothek Zürich.

The North America Library (Nordamerikabibliothek NAB) has been collecting US and Anglo-Canadian literature since 1972. Over 120,000 titles are available in the Zentralbibliothek.

The NAB for study and research

The NAB holds a wide range of current secondary literature on US and Anglo-Canadian literature. As well as literature on the classics, we also cover literary voices and movements outside the mainstream.

Diversity and experimental literature

Native American, African American, Chicana/Chicano, queer and LGBTQ – we recognise the importance of minority literatures and also include theoretical publications in the NAB. Another focal point of the NAB is experimental literature. To ensure we do not miss anything, we subscribe to periodicals such as Best American Experimental Writing.

Fresh voices in the NAB

We pay particular attention to new authors from the US and Canada. The latest literature goes straight into our collections. Insights into literary life are offered by periodicals such as Hazlitt, PEN America Best Debut Short Stories and the CVC Short Fiction Anthology Series.

Services and contacts

All titles from the NAB can be found in the Rechercheportal. Use the setting “ZB, Nordamerikabibliothek” to search the collection separately. You can also search the holdings of the NAB using English keywords (LC subjects). New titles entering the library from 2016 onwards are consecutively numbered by date of acquisition (“numerus currens”). NAB monographs up to 2016 are indexed under “NABM” in P - 4 of the Zentralbibliothek. For the NAB, contact:

Chess Library

The Zentralbibliothek Zürich holds one of Switzerland’s largest publicly accessible collections on chess.

“Matt in 20 Zügen”, “Schachdelikatessen” and “Heiteres aus der Schachwelt” are just a few of the titles in our extensive holdings.

Fans of chess literature are sure to find something of interest

Since 2010 the Zentralbibliothek Zürich has been home to the “Helvetic Chess Library”, a collection of around 4,000 books and numerous periodicals all devoted to chess. They are drawn from:

  • The library of the Swiss Chess Society
  • The library of the Swiss Association of Artistic Chess Enthusiasts
  • The personal library of chess journalist Alex Crisovan

Borrow books with the call number “Schach CH”

You can borrow the chess library! Under the call number “Schach CH  you will find not just books and periodicals but also photographs of chess grandmasters, caricatures and humorous drawings on the topic of chess, as well as bulletins from international chess tournaments.

Library and files of the Zurich Chess Society

There is more too: you can also view many files and the library of the Zurich Chess Society – the world’s oldest chess association. The books are catalogued in the Rechercheportal under “Schach”. The archival holdings can be found under the call number “Ms. Z III 113 & a-f”.

Additional collections

  • Studienbibliothek zur Geschichte der Arbeiterbewegung (SGA)
  • Allgemeine Musikgesellschaft Zürich (Depot AMG)
  • Freundeskreis Nepal (Depot NEP)
  • Julius-Klaus-Stiftung (Depot JKS)
  • Ornithologische Gesellschaft Zürich (Depot OGZ)
  • Schweizerische Bibliophile Gesellschaft (Depot SBG)
  • Schweizerische Jagdgesellschaft (Depot Jagd)
  • Schweizerische Kynologische Gesellschaft (Depot SKG)
  • Schweizerischer Zofingerverein (Depot Zof)
  • Verein Schweizerischer Gymnasiallehrer (Depot Gy)

Allgemeiner Bestand

Weitere Sammlungen

Einleitung

Wir stellen Ihnen zahlreiche weitere Sammlungen zur Verfügung. Diese haben ganz unterschiedlichen Inhalt – und zuweilen auch eine spannende Vorgeschichte.

Vielfältige Bestände

Die weiteren Sammlungen ergänzen unseren wertvollen Altbestand und den allgemeinen Bestand, der Ihnen breit und umfassend Literatur zur Verfügung stellt. Hier finden Sie ganz unterschiedliche Bibliotheken, die eigenständig waren, wie die Nordamerikabibliothek oder die Studienbibliothek zur Geschichte der Arbeiterbewegung. Wir betreuen aber auch Depotbibliotheken, z. B. diejenige des Schweizerischen Alpenclubs SAC oder die Fennica-Sammlung der Freunde Finnlands.

Baltica

Himmelserscheinungen über der Stadt Wenden bei Riga. Der kolorierte Holzschnitt von 1573 illustriert die Baltica-Sammlung der Zentralbibliothek.

In unserer Baltica-Sammlung dreht sich alles um Estland, Lettland und Litauen. Entdecken Sie über 5'000 Titel zum Baltikum in der Zentralbibliothek.

Baltica – Bestand

Unsere Baltica-Sammlung ist eine der grössten im deutschsprachigen Raum. Im Fokus steht die Literatur aus Estland, Lettland und Litauen. Wir erwerben in den Landessprachen und übersetzt auf Deutsch, Englisch oder Französisch. Im Fokus der Sammlung stehen ausserdem:

  • Literatur- und Sprachwissenschaft
  • Geschichte und Landeskunde
  • Kultur, Kunst und Musik

Sondersammelgebiet Baltikum

Auf Anregung des Swiss Baltic Net der Gebert-Rüf-Stiftung wurden unsere Baltica 2001 als Sondersammelgebiet definiert. Seither gelangen die Baltica durch kontinuierliche Erwerbung, manchmal auch als Geschenk, in unseren Bestand. Im vergangenen Jahrhundert förderten Schenkungen, Legate und der akademische Schriftentausch den Aufbau unserer Sammlung.

Spezielles rund um die Baltica

Unser Livonica-Bestand vereint Titel zum historischen Lettland und Estland. Mit dabei sind wertvolle Drucke aus dem 16. Jahrhundert. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der Baltica ist die Musik. Die Sammlung dokumentiert zum Beispiel, wie Richard Wagner das Musikleben in Zürich und Riga mitgestaltete. Wir erwerben auch Notendrucke und Tonträger.

Zürich als Zentrum für das Baltikum

Im deutschsprachigen Raum existieren nur wenige Zentren für baltistisches Schrifttum und Literatur zum Baltikum. Zürich ist ein solches Zentrum – neben Münster, Greifswald, München und Göttingen. Wir erwerben zu Estland, Lettland und Litauen auch:

  • Reiseführer, Atlanten und Karten
  • Elektronische Medien

Baltica ausleihen und Kontakt

Die Baltica sind im Rechercheportal nachgewiesen. Helfen Sie mit beim Aufbau des Baltica-Bestandes und zögern Sie nicht, uns Anschaffungsvorschläge zukommen zu lassen. Betreut wird die Sammlung von Marija Simasek (Lettland, Littauen) und Mirja Lanz (Estland):

Bibliothek des Schweizer Alpen-Club SAC

Die Grafik «Das Leiterflühli» aus dem Buch Doldenhorn und Weisse Frau (1863) ist Teil des Bestandes der SAC-Bibliothek zur Geschichte des Alpinismus.

Alles zum Alpinismus, von damals bis morgen: Die zentrale Bibliothek des Schweizer Alpen-Club SAC richtet sich an alle Bergbegeisterte.

Die SAC-Bibliothek: Berg und Bergsport

In der Bibliothek des Schweizer Alpen-Club SAC steht seit 1890 der Berg im Mittelpunkt. Und natürlich der Bergsport. Ob Wanderung, Skitour, Bikeroute oder Bergroman: Mit rund 60'000 Büchern, Zeitschriften, Karten und Panoramen ist die SAC-Bibliothek eine der grössten Bergbibliotheken weltweit. Sie finden bei uns auch Fachbücher zur Lawinenkunde, Höhenmedizin oder Ernährung im Bergsport.

Aktuelle Wander- und Kletterführer

Sie interessieren sich für Kletterrouten in Südfrankreich? Sie planen Wanderferien in den Dolomiten oder eine Skitour im Silvrettagebiet? Den geographischen Schwerpunkt der SAC-Bibliothek bilden die Schweizer Berge, sowie die Ost-und Westalpen. Natürlich bieten wir auch Führer zu weiteren Bergsportgebieten in Europa und zu den Gebirgen auf anderen Kontinenten.  

Spezialgebiet Geschichte des Alpinismus 

Von Karl Spazier bis Ueli Steck: Ein Spezialgebiet der SAC-Bibliothek ist die Geschichte des Alpinismus. In unserem Bestand finden Sie Quellen von 1750 bis heute, darunter die Berichte von Erstbesteigungen, Portraits von Alpinisten oder Publikationen zur Entwicklung des Bergsports in einzelnen Regionen. Einzigartig ist unsere Sammlung historischer Karten und Panoramen.

Geschichte der SAC-Bibliothek

Die SAC-Bibliothek wurde 1890 gegründet und als Depositum in die damalige Stadtbibliothek Zürich aufgenommen. 1917 gelangte sie mit der Stadtbibliothek in die neu gegründete Zentralbibliothek Zürich. Der Auftrag der SAC-Bibliothek war und ist es, das wissenschaftlich interessierte Publikum mit Alpinliteratur zu versorgen. Als zentrale Bibliothek des SAC berücksichtigt sie alle Landesteile der Schweiz und entlastet die Sektionsbibliotheken des SAC.  

Bücher der SAC-Bibliothek finden und ausleihen

  • Den Bestand der SAC-Bibliothek können Sie im Rechercheportal online durchsuchen.
  • Bücher der SAC-Bibliothek bestellen Sie im Rechercheportal, da der Bestand nicht frei zugänglich ist. Informieren Sie sich über die Bestellmöglichkeiten und Abholorte.
  • Karten sind nicht ausleihbar. In der Abteilung Karten und Panoramen können Sie Karten einsehen. Beachten Sie die Öffnungszeiten [6].

Services und Kontakt 

  • Sie vermissen eine Publikation? Machen Sie einen Anschaffungsvorschlag.
  • Sie haben eine Frage oder wünschen Unterstützung bei der Recherche? Wir beraten Sie gerne und kostenlos. Vereinbaren Sie eine individuelle Beratung oder kontaktieren Sie für die SAC-Bibliothek:

 

Die Russische Bibliothek Zürich

Einblick in die Sammlung der Russischen Bibliothek Zürich (RBC) der Zentralbibliothek Zürich.

Die Russische Bibliothek ist ein Juwel und eine Zeitzeugin der Zürcher Geschichte. Entdecken Sie russische Literatur, Kultur und Geschichte in der Zentralbibliothek.

Russische Bibliothek Zürich – Bestand

In der Russischen Bibliothek finden Sie 6'000 Monografien und Zeitschriften, vereint unter der Signatur RBC. Russische Belletristik des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts, Übersetzungen und Exilliteratur bilden den Kern der Sammlung. Weitere Schwerpunkte sind:

  • Literatur-, Kultur- und Geistesgeschichte
  • Biografien, Memoiren und Landeskunde
  • Lehrmittel und Kinderbücher

Geschichte der Russischen Bibliothek Zürich

1927 gründeten Russland-Schweizer und russische Emigranten den Verein «Russkaja biblioteka v Cjuriche». Aus eigenen Mitteln finanzierten sie eine politisch unabhängige Bibliothek. 1983 löste sich der Verein auf. Die Bibliothek gelangte als Schenkung an das Slavische Seminar der Universität Zürich. 2002 übernahm die Zentralbibliothek den Bestand der Russischen Bibliothek. Die Sammlung RBC ist abgeschlossen.

Besonderes rund um die Russische Bibliothek Zürich

In unserer Handschriftenabteilung finden Sie das Archiv der Russischen Bibliothek. Zum Beispiel ist darin die Originalkartei der 883 Mitglieder erhalten. Briefe, Akten und Protokolle zeugen von der regen Tätigkeit des Vereins. Alle Materialien sind der Signatur Ms. RBC zugeordnet. Bei Interesse gibt Ihnen die Handschriftenabteilung der Zentralbibliothek gerne Auskunft.

Recherche, Ausleihe und Kontakt

Die RBC ist im Rechercheportal nachgewiesen. Der Filter «ZB, Russische Bibliothek Zürich» hilft Ihnen bei der gezielten Suche. Neuerscheinungen zur russischen Literatur und Sprache erwerben wir im Fachgebiet Slavistik. Sie haben Fragen? Kontaktieren Sie für die Russische Bibliothek Zürich:

Drehbuchsammlung der Zentralbibliothek Zürich

Von «Die letzte Chance» bis «Wolkenbruch»: In der Drehbuchsammlung der Zentralbibliothek spiegelt sich die bunte Vielfalt des Schweizer Filmschaffens.

Die Zentralbibliothek Zürich baut in Zusammenarbeit mit der Cinémathèque Suisse eine Sammlung von Schweizer Drehbüchern auf. Ebenfalls gesammelt werden Vorlagen zu Dokumentarfilmen.

Drehbücher in der Zentralbibliothek

Die Zentralbibliothek sammelt seit 2006 Schweizer Drehbücher sowie Drehvorlagen zu Schweizer Dokumentarfilmen. Bis im Frühjahr 2019 wurden über 3500 Drehbücher aus den Beständen der Zürcher Präsidialabteilung, der Zürcher Filmstiftung und der Cinémathèque Suisse für die Benutzung bereitgestellt. Die Sammlung wird laufend erweitert.

Ohne Drehbücher keine Filme

Drehbücher sind eine eigene literarische Gattung. Sie werden in der Schweiz allerdings kaum je publiziert und gehen nach Fertigstellung eines Films gern vergessen. Dies ungeachtet der Tatsache, dass sie Teil des kulturellen Erbes und Grundmaterial für die Forschung sind. Die Zentralbibliothek will dem Vergessen entgegenwirken und sammelt seit 2006 Schweizer Drehbücher.

Drehbücher selber entdecken

Welche Schweizer Drehbücher – und Drehvorlagen zu Dokumentarfilmen – die Zentralbibliothek hat, können Sie bequem online nachschauen. Geben Sie im Rechercheportal im Suchfeld "MFSD" ein. Wenn Sie Drehbücher einer bestimmten Autorin oder eines bestimmten Autors suchen, geben Sie zusätzlich den Namen ein.

Drehbücher einsehen/ mit Drehbüchern arbeiten 

Drehbücher sind Handschriften und unterliegen dem Urheberrecht. Sie werden Ihnen auf Bestellung im Lesesaal der Musikabteilung auf Mikrofilm zur Einsicht vorgelegt. Weitere Auskünfte erteilt Ihnen die Fachreferentin, Irene Genhart:

Führungen

Wenn Sie mehr über die Drehbuchsammlung erfahren möchten, empfehlen wir Ihnen den Arbido Artikel unserer Fachreferentin oder den Besuch unserer Führungen. Diese nächste findet am 24. Oktober um 17.30 Uhr statt und wird ab 5 bis 20 Personen durchgeführt.

Wir bitten Sie um Anmeldung bis spätestens eine Woche im Voraus an:

Fennica

Finnische Literatur in der Bibliotheca Fennica der Zentralbibliothek Zürich.

Willkommen – tervetuloa – välkommen! In der Bibliotheca Fennica finden Sie die neueste finnische Literatur, zudem Kinderbücher, finnische Filme und Bücher zu Finnland.

Bestand der Fennica

Die Fennica ist die grösste finnische Bibliothek der Schweiz. Rund 8000 Titel und 300 DVD stehen Ihnen zur Verfügung. Belletristik und Kinderbücher erwerben wir in den Sprachen Finnisch und Finnlandschwedisch sowie in deutscher Übersetzung. Sachbücher bietet Ihnen die Fennica zu folgenden Themen:

  • Geschichte und Landeskunde
  • Literatur und Sprache
  • Kultur, Musik, Architektur und Kunst

Warum es die Fennica gibt

Lesen gehört zu Finnland wie die Sauna zum Haus. Also brauchten die Finninnen und Finnen, die ab den 50er Jahren in die Schweiz auswanderten, eine finnische Bibliothek. Ob Kaurismäki, Muumi oder Mannerheim: Die Fennica wird seit 1955 von der Schweizerischen Vereinigung der Freunde Finnlands (SVFF) aufgebaut und ist auch Vereinsbibliothek. 2001 schenkte die SVFF die Fennica der ZB.

Finnische Bücher finden und ausleihen

  • Sie finden alle Titel der Fennica im Rechercheportal. Mit der Einstellung «ZB, Fennica» können Sie den Bestand separat durchsuchen.
  • Ein Workshop zur Fennica mit Tipps zur Recherche findet regelmässig statt.
  • Der Bestand befindet sich im P - 4 der ZB und ist frei zugänglich. Es gelten die Benutzungsbestimmungen der ZB.
  • Hier finden Sie die Neuerwerbungsliste der Fennica.

Wer wir sind, wie Sie uns erreichen

Für die Auswahl der Titel ist die Bibliothekskommission der Fennica zuständig. Die Vereinsmitglieder der SVFF finanzieren seit 60 Jahren alle Erwerbungen der Fennica mit ihrem Mitgliederbeitrag. Sie haben eine Frage oder wünschen eine Auskunft? Kontaktieren Sie Mirja Lanz, verantwortlich für die Fennica in der ZB:

Bibliothek Oskar R. Schlag

Ein Prunkstück aus der Bibliothek Oskar R. Schlag: Das Unsichtbare Kollegium der Rosenkreuzerbruderschaft

Die Bibliothek Oskar R. Schlag ist eine Spezialbibliothek zu allen Themen der Esoterik und verwandter Gebiete. Sie diente dem Esoterikforscher Oskar R. Schlag ursprünglich für seine privaten Studien und umfasst über 25’000, zum Teil seltene Bände. Der Bestand kann von allen Bibliotheksbenutzenden online bestellt werden.

Alle Teilgebiete der Esoterik

Erwarten Sie in einer öffentlichen wissenschaftlichen Bibliothek Literatur zu Astrologie, Geistererscheinungen und Satanismus? Bei uns finden Sie sie, und zwar in der Bibliothek Oskar R. Schlag. Diese umfangreiche Privatbibliothek kam 1990 als Geschenk an die Zentralbibliothek und wird seither laufend erweitert. Die Sammlung umfasst seltene Dokumente aus dem 17. und 18. Jahrhundert. Der Schwerpunkt liegt aber bei Werken seit dem 19. Jahrhundert aus allen Teilgebieten der Esoterik.

In der Bibliothek Oskar R. Schlag vertretene Gebiete

  • Alchemie, Magie, Mantik
  • Geheimgesellschaften (Freimaurer, Golden Dawn, Rosenkreuzer, Theosophie)
  • Mythologie und Symbolforschung
  • Parapsychologie, Spiritismus
  • östliche, jüdische und christliche esoterische Traditionen
  • esoterische Belletristik

Noch mehr Esoterik in der Zentralbibliothek

Bestände zu den Themen Esoterik, Parapsychologie und Okkultismus besitzen wir nicht nur in der Bibliothek Oskar R. Schlag. Auch in den Spezialsammlungen sowie im allgemeinen Bestand finden Sie historische und aktuelle Literatur zu diesen Themen.

Bibliothek Oskar R. Schlag

bibliothek.schlag@zb.uzh.ch

Nordamerikabibliothek

Amerikanische und kanadische Literatur in der Nordamerikabibliothek der Zentralbibliothek Zürich.

Seit 1972 steht die Nordamerikabibliothek (NAB) für US-amerikanische und anglo-kanadische Literatur. Über 120'000 Titel stehen Ihnen in der Zentralbibliothek zur Verfügung.

Die NAB für Studium und Forschung

In der Nordamerikabibliothek stellen wir Ihnen eine breite und aktuelle Auswahl an Sekundärliteratur zur US-amerikanischen und anglo-kanadischen Literatur zur Verfügung. Wir sammeln nicht nur Literatur zu den Klassikern, sondern berücksichtigen auch literarische Stimmen und Bewegungen ausserhalb des Mainstreams.

Diversität und experimentelle Literatur

Ob Native American, African American, Chicana/Chicano, Queer oder LGBTQ – wir legen Wert auf die Literaturen der Minoritäten und begleiten diese in der Nordamerikabibliothek auch theoretisch. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der NAB ist die experimentelle Literatur. Damit uns allen nichts entgeht, abonnieren wir Zeitschriften wie „Best American experimental writing“.

Frische Stimmen in der NAB

Besondere Aufmerksamkeit schenken wir neuen Autorinnen und Autoren aus den USA und aus Kanada. Die literarische Aktualität gelangt direkt in unseren Bestand. Einen Einblick ins literarische Leben bieten Ihnen auch Zeitschriften wie Hazlitt, PEN America best debut short stories oder die CVC short fiction anthology series.

Services und Kontakt

Alle Titel der NAB finden Sie im Rechercheportal. Mit der Einstellung «ZB, Nordamerikabibliothek» können Sie den Bestand separat durchsuchen. Eine Suche mit englischen Schlagwörtern (LC-Subjects) ist für den Bestand der NAB möglich. Seit 2016 werden neue Titel fortlaufend eingereiht (Numerus Currens). Die NAB-Monografien bis 2016 finden Sie unter der Signatur NABM im P - 4 der Zentralbibliothek. Kontaktieren Sie für die Nordamerikabibliothek:

Schachbibliothek

Die Zentralbibliothek Zürich besitzt eine der schweizweit grössten öffentlich zugänglichen Sammlungen zum Thema Schach.

«Matt in 20 Zügen», «Schachdelikatessen» oder «Heiteres aus der Schachwelt»: Das sind nur einige der Titel, die wir in unserer grossen Schachsammlung anbieten.

Freunde der Schachliteratur kommen bei uns auf ihre Kosten

Seit 2010 ist die Zentralbibliothek Zürich im Besitz einer rund 4'000 Bücher und zahlreiche Zeitschriften umfassenden Schachbuchsammlung, der sogenannten «Helvetischen Schachbibliothek». Darin sind Schachbücher aus mehreren Bibliotheken vereint:

  • die Bibliothek des «Schweizerischen Schachbundes»
  • die Bibliothek der «Schweizerischen Vereinigung der Kunstschachfreunde»
  • die Privatbibliothek des Schachjournalisten Alex Crisovan

Leihen Sie Bücher der Signatur «Schach CH» aus

Sie können die Schachbibliothek ausleihen! In der Sammlung mit der Signatur «Schach CH» finden Sie übrigens nicht nur Bücher und Zeitungen, sondern auch Fotografien von Schachgrossmeistern, Karikaturen und Witzzeichnungen zum Thema Schach oder Bulletins von internationalen Schachturnieren.

Bibliothek und Akten der Schachgesellschaft Zürich

Aber das ist noch nicht alles: Sie können bei uns auch viele Akten sowie die Bibliothek der Schachgesellschaft Zürich – das ist der älteste Schachverein der Welt - ansehen. Die Bücher sind im Rechercheportal unter der Signatur «Schach» nachgewiesen. Den Archivbestand finden Sie unter der Signatur «Ms. Z III 113 & a-f».

Weitere Sammlungen

  • Studienbibliothek zur Geschichte der Arbeiterbewegung (SGA)
  • Allgemeine Musikgesellschaft Zürich (Depot AMG)
  • Freundeskreis Nepal (Depot NEP)
  • Julius-Klaus-Stiftung (Depot JKS)
  • Ornithologische Gesellschaft Zürich (Depot OGZ)
  • Schweizerische Bibliophile Gesellschaft (Depot SBG)
  • Schweizerische Jagdgesellschaft (Depot Jagd)
  • Schweizerische Kynologische Gesellschaft (Depot SKG)
  • Schweizerischer Zofingerverein (Depot Zof)
  • Verein Schweizerischer Gymnasiallehrer (Depot Gy)