Workspaces on the ground, first and second floors (P 0, P 1, P 2)

Most workspaces have power connections and WiFi. They can be used freely; we do not take bookings. Our cubicles with movable partitions offer separate learning and working environments. We offer:

  • over 200 workspaces with power connections and WiFi in P 0 and P 1, including 9 cubicles in P 0
  • four group cubicles in P 0 and P 1
  • 175 workspaces in P 2

Group rooms 

On the 3rd floor (P 3) are five rooms that can be used by between two and eight people for group work, discussions, tandem lessons, etc. This offering is a pilot, and will run until the old building is renovated in 2022.

You can book the rooms in advance or simply turn up and use one on request. Bookings can be made either on site at the information desk or by e-mail to kundenservice@zb.uzh.ch at least 24 hours before the desired time, and should include the following information: name, timeslot, number of people, telephone number and library card or matriculation number. Reservations made by e-mail are not valid until you receive a confirmation e-mail. You can collect the key at the information desk on the ground floor.

A group can occupy a group room for a maximum of four hours per day. The timeslots that can be booked are from Monday to Friday, 8.00am–12 midday, 1.00pm–5.00pm and 5.30pm–7.30pm, and Saturday, Sunday and public holidays from 9.00am–12 midday and 1.00pm–5.00pm. We accept a maximum of two bookings for a group per week. You can book for the current week and the following week.

By taking receipt of the key, you accept the terms of use for group rooms.

Internet access

If you are studying at the University of Zurich or another university you can log on to the internet via Eduroam.

If you are additionally connecting to the University of Zurich via VPN, you also have access to the databases, e-journals and e-books licensed by the Zentralbibliothek and the University of Zurich.

Library visitors are recommended to use our “ZB Zuerich (Guest)” Wi-Fi. When you register, you will receive a password that is valid for six months. Please note that you cannot use this connection to access the databases, e-journals and e-books licensed by the Zentralbibliothek and the University of Zurich.

Research terminals and PC workstations

Direct access to library catalogues, databases, e-journals and e-books is available at our PC workstations in P 0, where you can also use Microsoft Office programs and the internet for research purposes. For full access to the search catalogue, e-resources and the internet, sign in using your swisscovery login details. You can download your search results to a USB stick, save them to a cloud service, send them as an e-mail attachment or print them out.

Lockers in the reading room

You can store your working materials in a locker in the reading room in P 1. 220 lockers which can be rented for a month are available. You can extend the rental period monthly at the information desk. Our reference collection, arranged by subject area, is located in the reading room in P 2. It contains useful resources such as dictionaries and bibliographies.

Scanning and copying

Copiers and/or scanners are situated at various locations on all floors of the ZB. You will need a ZB copy card to use them.

Copy cards can be purchased or borrowed from the information desk, along with USB sticks. They can also be obtained from the machines in P 0 next to the copier and in P 0 next to the central staircase.

Media area – working with microfilms

Our media area in P 2 contains equipment for working with microfilms and microfiches. You can print from microform or save it to a USB stick. The following facilities are available:

  • 2 combined microfiche and microfilm machines with digital output
  • 2 microfilm readers with paper output
  • 1 microfiche reader with paper output
  • 2 multimedia PCs with scanning facilities and digital output
  • 1 book scanner with digital output
  • 2 colour copiers with paper output

Reading lounge – newspapers and magazines

Take a break in our reading lounge in P 0. We offer a selection of national and international newspapers daily. Around the reading lounge you will also find a wide range of magazines and journals on leisure, culture, nature and science. Media on topics related to Zurich can be found in the Turicensia Lounge.

Contact

If you need assistance, we are happy to help.

Arbeitsplätze im Erdgeschoss, ersten und zweiten Stock (P 0, P 1, P 2)

Die meisten Arbeitsplätze verfügen über Strom und WLAN. Sie können sie frei nutzen, wir nehmen keine Reservationen entgegen. Unsere Cubicles bieten zusätzlich geschützte Lern- und Arbeitsumgebungen. Wir stellen bereit:

  • über 200 Arbeitsplätze mit Strom/WLAN im P 0 und P 1, davon 9 Cubicles im P 0
  • Vier Cubicles im P 0 und P 1
  • 175 Arbeitsplätze im P 2

Gruppenräume 

Im 3. Stock (P 3) stehen fünf Räume für zwei bis acht Personen für Gruppenarbeiten, Diskussionen, Tandemstunden, etc. zur Verfügung. Das Angebot ist ein Pilotversuch und dauert bis zur Sanierung des Altbaus Ende 2021.

Sie können die Räume vorgängig buchen oder auf Anfrage spontan nutzen. Einen Raum reservieren Sie entweder vor Ort an der Information oder via Mail an kundenservice@zb.uzh.ch. Die Reservation erfolgt mindestens 24 Stunden vor dem gewünschten Termin mit folgenden Angaben: Name, Zeitfenster, Personenanzahl, Telefonnummer und Bibliothekskarten- oder Matrikelnummer. Die Raumreservation via Mail ist erst mit Erhalt einer Bestätigungsmail gültig. Sie können den Schlüssel an der Information im Erdgeschoss beziehen.

Eine Gruppe kann einen Gruppenraum pro Tag für maximal 4 Stunden belegen. Die buchbaren Zeitfenster sind von Montag bis Freitag von 08-12 Uhr, 13-17 Uhr und 17:30-19:30 Uhr und am Samstag von 9-12 Uhr sowie von 13-17 Uhr. Wir nehmen pro Woche maximal zwei Buchung für eine Gruppe entgegen. Sie können für die aktuelle und kommende Woche reservieren.

Mit der Schlüsselübergabe akzeptieren Sie die Nutzungsbedingungen für Gruppenräume.

Internetzugang

Studieren Sie an der Universität Zürich oder an einer anderen Hochschule? Loggen Sie sich über Eduroam ins Internet ein.

Wenn Sie sich zusätzlich via VPN mit der Universität Zürich verbinden, haben Sie auch Zugriff auf die von der Zentralbibliothek und Universität Zürich lizenzierten Datenbanken, E-Journals und E-Books.

Unseren Bibliotheksbesucherinnen und -besuchern empfehlen wir unser WLAN «ZB Zuerich (Guest)». Das Passwort, das Sie nach Ihrer Registrierung erhalten, ist sechs Monate gültig. Beachten Sie, dass Sie mit dieser Verbindung nicht auf die von der Zentralbibliothek und Universität Zürich lizenzierten Datenbanken, E-Journals und E-Books zugreifen können.

Rechercheterminals und PC-Arbeitsplätze

Direkten Zugriff auf Bibliothekskataloge, Datenbanken, E-Journals und E-Books haben Sie an unseren Rechercheterminals. Im Katalogsaal P 0 stehen Ihnen zudem die folgenden Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung:

  • Acht Internet-Arbeitsplätze für wissenschaftliche Recherchen
  • Vier PCs mit DVD/CD-Laufwerk, USB-Schnittstelle und Office-Programmen

Schliessfächer im Lesesaal

Sie haben die Möglichkeit, Ihre Arbeitsmaterialien in einem Schliessfach im Lesesaal P 1 aufzubewahren. 220 Schliessfächer mit einer Leihfrist von einem Monat stehen zur Verfügung. Sie können die Frist monatlich an der Information verlängern. Im Lesesaal P 2 finden Sie unseren fachlich geordneten Präsenzbestand. Er bietet Arbeitshilfen wie Lexika und Bibliografien.

Scannen und kopieren

Auf allen Stockwerken der ZB befinden sich Kopiergeräte und/oder Scanner an verschiedenen Standorten. Für unsere Geräte brauchen Sie eine ZB-Kopierkarte.

Diese, sowie USB-Sticks, können Sie an der Information beziehen oder ausliehen. Kopierkarten erhalten Sie auch an den Automaten im P 0 neben dem Kopierer und im P 0 bei der zentralen Treppe.

Medienraum – mit Mikrofilmen arbeiten

Unser Medienraum im P 2 ist für die Arbeit mit Mikrofilmen und Mikrofichen ausgestattet. Sie können ab Mikroform drucken oder auf einen USB-Stick speichern. Zu Ihrer Verfügung stehen:

  • 2 Kombigeräte Mikrofiche und Microfilm mit digitaler Ausgabe
  • 2 Lesegeräte für Mikrofilme mit Papierausgabe
  • 1 Lesegerät für Mikrofichen mit Papierausgabe
  • 2 Multimedia-PC's mit Scanmöglichkeit und digitaler Ausgabe
  • 1 Buchscanner mit digitaler Ausgabe
  • 2 Farbkopierer mit Papierausgabe

Leselounge – Zeitungen und Magazine

Machen Sie einmal Pause in unserer Leselounge im P 0. Wir legen täglich eine Auswahl nationaler und internationaler Zeitungen auf. Bei der Leselounge finden Sie zudem ein breites Angebot an Magazinen und Zeitschriften zu Freizeit, Kultur, Natur und Wissenschaft. Medien zu Zürcher Themen finden Sie in der Turicensia-Lounge.