“Zurich doesn’t just need outstanding universities: it also needs modern libraries offering expert advice. That’s why the City of Zurich provides financial support to libraries and is involved in the Zentralbibliothek’s patron association. The ‘ZB’ is the perfect place to research, learn and share ideas – for researchers and for anyone in Zurich who wants to do so.”  – Corine Mauch, Mayor of Zurich


Join us

About the GFZB

The “Gesellschaft von Freunden der Zentralbibliothek” (“Society of Friends of the Zentralbibliothek”, GFZB) steps in when there are no public funds available for an urgent project or an important acquisition. By becoming a member, you help to enable public podium discussions, technical innovations for information transfer, or the purchase of unique objects for the historical collections.

Zurich’s city library was established by liberal-minded citizens in the 17th century. Upholding that tradition, the GFZB sees itself as a form of active citizenship and as a third member of a trio, along with the Canton and City.

Our activities

Over recent years, the GFZB has enabled the following projects:

  • Launch of the Escher talk discussion series focusing on research topics of major societal importance (2020)
  • Equipping the ZB’s teaching rooms with laptops and touchscreens for interactive communication (2018)
  • Acquiring facsimiles of books and special issues such as “Hundert Zürcher Ansichten” (marking the anniversary year in 2017)
  • Installing a thoughtfully designed lounge in the reading room where users can read newspapers and periodicals from all over the world (2011)

The launch of an ETH Zurich augmented reality app for ZB exhibitions is planned for 2022. It will provide an innovative complement to a museum visit and enable users to delve more deeply into the stories that the individual objects have to tell.

A modest contribution makes a big impact!

Would you like to support our historically important institution and its valuable collections? Make your contribution to the ZB by joining the GFZB. Simply register by e-mailing gfzb@zb.uzh.ch or use the form. 

Registration form

GFZB collective members

Chair 

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Eigler

Board

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Babusiaux
Dr. Rainer Diederichs
Prof. Dr. Peter Nobel
Anna Schlosser
Prof. Dr. Clausdieter Schott
lic. phil. Verena Wyss Meili

«Für Zürich sind nicht nur exzellente Hochschulen wichtig, sondern auch moderne Bibliotheken mit kompetenter Beratung. Darum unterstützt die Stadt Zürich Bibliotheken finanziell und ist an der Trägerschaft der Zentralbibliothek beteiligt. Die «ZB» ist ein idealer Ort zum Recherchieren, Lernen und für den Gedankenaustausch – für Forschende ebenso wie für alle interessierten Zürcherinnen und Zürcher.»  – Corine Mauch, Stadtpräsidentin


Jetzt mitmachen

Über die GFZB

Die «Gesellschaft von Freunden der Zentralbibliothek» (GFZB) kommt zum Zug, wenn für ein dringendes Projekt oder eine wichtige Anschaffung keine öffentlichen Mittel zur Verfügung stehen. Mit Ihrer Mitgliedschaft ermöglichen Sie öffentliche Podiumsdiskussionen, technische Innovationen bei der Informationsvermittlung oder den Kauf von besonderen Objekten für die historischen Sammlungen.

Die Zürcher Stadtbibliothek wurde im 17. Jahrhundert von weltoffenen Bürgern gegründet. Die GFZB versteht sich in dieser Tradition als bürgerliches Engagement und als dritte Kraft neben Kanton und Stadt.

Unsere Aktivitäten

In den letzten Jahren hat die GFZB folgende Projekte ermöglicht:

  • Lancierung der Gesprächsreihe «Eschertalk», in der Forschungsthemen aufgegriffen werden, welche die Gesellschaft bewegen (2020)
  • Ausstattung der ZB-Schulungsräume mit Laptops sowie Touchscreens, die eine interaktive Kommunikation ermöglichen (2018)
  • Anschaffung von Faksimile-Buchausgaben sowie Sonderausgaben wie die «Hundert Zürcher Ansichten» (zum Jubiläum 2017)
  • Installation einer sorgfältig gestalteten Leselounge im Lesesaal, wo Zeitungen und Zeitschriften aus aller Welt eingesehen werden können (2011)

Für das Jahr 2022 ist die Lancierung einer sog. Augmented Reality-App der ETH-Zürich für die ZB-Ausstellungen geplant. Sie wird den Museumsbesuch auf innovative Weise ergänzen und es erlauben, noch tiefer in die Geschichten einzutauchen, welche die einzelnen Objekte erzählen.

Mit einem kleinen Beitrag sind Sie dabei!

Wollen Sie unsere Institution mit historischer Bedeutung und wertvollen Beständen unterstützen? Engagieren auch Sie sich für die ZB und werden Sie Mitglied der GFZB. Melden Sie sich einfach an unter gfzb@zb.uzh.ch oder nutzen Sie das Formular.

Anmeldeformular

GFZB Kollektivmitglieder

Präsident 

Prof. Dr. Clausdieter Schott

Vorstand

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Babusiaux
Dr. Rainer Diederichs
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Eigler
Dr. Karl Lang
Prof. Dr. Peter Nobel
Dr. Claudia Rütsche
Anna Schlosser
lic. phil. Verena Wyss Meili