What is open access?

Open access means cost-free and unrestricted access to research literature and information on the internet.

Why open access?

It seems obvious that the results of publicly funded research should be freely accessible. Under the existing system, however, the public pays more than once: publicly funded libraries have to buy the results of publicly funded research from private publishers so that their users can read them.

Open access leads to equality of opportunity for everyone interested, within or outside the research community, including parts of the world that do not have well-funded libraries.

How do I find open access publications?

  • Content in this category is labelled “open access” in the ZB’s online catalogue.
  • Browser extensions can also point you automatically to open access versions of research literature: examples include Unpaywall (for Chrome and Firefox) and Open Access Helper (for Safari).
  • Many historical sources from the ZB’s collections have been digitised and are available as open access via the e-manuscripta and e-rara platforms. 

The Swiss open access strategy

In Switzerland, all publications from publicly funded research are supposed to be available via open access by 2024. That is the goal of the national open access strategy. To achieve it, work is currently under way in a number of action areas defined in an action plan. They include:

  • national monitoring of the costs to universities of open access publications
  • negotiating new open access contracts with publishers
  • international networking and collaboration
  • developing and reinforcing alternative publication models.

The open access action plan is also the first pillar of the new Swiss open science strategy.

Open access is an international trend that is both promoted and necessitated by research policy. One example of an international initiative is Plan S, which was initiated by the European Commission and is supported by numerous research promoters. Its aim is to make all government-funded research results available via open access by 2021.

Publishing open access

There are various ways to publish open access. The most important are:

  • Researchers publish their work in an open access journal so that it is freely accessible to everyone immediately, paying a publication fee to do so. This is the “gold” model.
  • Researchers publish their work in conventional journals that can only be read on payment of a fee. They also make their work freely accessible on the internet, for example on their university’s publication server. The publisher does not normally permit this until after an embargo period. This is the “green” model.
  • Alternative forms of publication: these include open access journals that do not charge publication fees but cover their costs in another way (e.g. journals of scientific societies), as well as new forms of research article publication, such as micropublications.

Open access is about more than free availability. Open access publications should also be open to further use, which is indicated by licences (e.g. Creative Commons). The copyrights should also remain with the researchers. Under the conventional system, they often pass entirely to the publisher.

The same quality standards apply to open access as to conventional publications. Scientific correctness is assessed via peer review or comparable methods.

Where can I find assistance with questions about open access?

If you are a researcher with questions about publishing open access, the University of Zurich’s Data Services & Open Access (DSOA) team will be happy to advise you. The Data Services & Open Access (DSOA) department is a joint initiative of the UZH and ZB. The DSOA maintains the ZORA repository for the University and answers questions about publishing open access. The ZB assists the DSOA with enquiries relating to the humanities and social sciences.

If you are a private individual wanting to learn more about open access and have questions or suggestions, you are welcome to contact us via e-mail.

More information about open access can be found here:

Was ist Open Access?

Open Access meint den kostenlosen und unbeschränkten Zugang zu wissenschaftlicher Literatur und Information im Internet.

Warum Open Access?

Ergebnisse aus öffentlich finanzierter Forschung sollen frei zugänglich sein – das leuchtet ein! Im bisherigen System zahlt die Öffentlichkeit hingegen mehrfach: Öffentlich finanzierte Bibliotheken müssen die Ergebnisse aus öffentlich finanzierter Forschung von privaten Verlagen kaufen, damit diese von ihren Benutzenden gelesen werden können.

Open Access führt zu Chancengleichheit für Interessierte inner- und ausserhalb des Wissenschaftsbetriebs, auch in Weltregionen, die keine finanziell gut ausgestatteten Bibliotheken haben.

Wie finde ich Open-Access-Publikationen?

  • Im Onlinekatalog der ZB sind die offen zugänglichen Inhalte mit «Open Access» gekennzeichnet.
  • Durch Browser-Erweiterungen kann man automatisch auf Open-Access-Versionen von wissenschaftlicher Literatur hingewiesen werden: z. B. Unpaywall (für Chrome und Firefox) oder Open Access Helper (für Safari).
  • Viele historische Quellen aus den Sammlungen der ZB sind digitalisiert und über die Plattformen e-manuscripta und e-rara in Open Access verfügbar.

Schweizer Open-Access-Strategie 

In der Schweiz sollen bis 2024 sämtliche Publikationen aus öffentlich finanzierter Forschung in Open Access zugänglich sein. Das ist das Ziel der nationalen Open-Access-Strategie. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, werden zurzeit unterschiedliche Aktionsfelder bearbeitet, die in einem Aktionsplan festgehalten sind. Dazu gehören u. a.

  • ein nationales Monitoring, das erhebt, welche Kosten den Hochschulen für Open-Access-Publikationen entstehen
  • Verhandlungen mit Verlagen über neue Open-Access-Verträge
  • internationale Vernetzung und Zusammenarbeit
  • die Entwicklung und Stärkung alternativer Publikationsmodelle.

Zudem ist der Open-Access-Aktionsplan das erste Standbein der neuen Schweizer Open-Science-Strategie.

Open Access ist ein internationaler Trend, der von der Wissenschaftspolitik gefördert – und gefordert – wird. Ein Beispiel für eine internationale Initiative ist der Plan S, der von der Europäischen Kommission initiiert wurde und von zahlreichen Forschungsförderern unterstützt wird. Dessen Ziel ist, dass bereits ab 2021 sämtliche staatlich finanzierten Forschungsergebnisse in Open Access zugänglich sein sollen. 

Publizieren in Open Access

Für das Publizieren in Open Access gibt es verschiedene Wege. Die wichtigsten sind:

  • Forschende veröffentlichen ihre Arbeiten in einer Open Access-Zeitschrift, sodass sie sofort und für alle frei zugänglich sind. Dafür bezahlen sie eine Publikationsgebühr. Das ist der sogenannte «Goldene Weg».
  • Forschende veröffentlichen ihre Arbeiten in klassischen Zeitschriften, die nur gegen Bezahlung gelesen werden können. Zusätzlich stellen sie die Arbeiten frei zugänglich im Internet zur Verfügung, z. B. auf dem Publikationsserver ihrer Hochschule. Dies erlaubt der Verlag meist erst nach einer Frist. Das ist der sogenannte «Grüne Weg».
  • Alternative Publikationsformen: Dazu gehören Open-Access-Zeitschriften, die keine Publikationsgebühren verlangen, sondern ihre Kosten auf anderem Weg decken (z. B. Zeitschriften von wissenschaftlichen Gesellschaften), aber auch neue Formen der Publikation wissenschaftlicher Beiträge (z. B. Mikropublikationen).

Open Access fordert nicht nur den freien Zugang. Open-Access-Publikationen sollen auch weiterverwendet werden dürfen, was durch Lizenzen (z. B. Creative Commons) vermerkt wird. Die Urheberrechte sollen ausserdem bei den Forschenden bleiben. Im klassischen System gehen diese Rechte nämlich oft ganz an den Verlag über.

Bei Open Access werden die gleichen Qualitätsstandards angewendet wie für herkömmliche Publikationen. Die wissenschaftliche Korrektheit wird durch Peer Review oder vergleichbare Methoden geprüft. 

Wo finde ich Unterstützung zu Fragen rund um Open Access?

Sie haben als Wissenschaftlerin oder Wissenschaftler Fragen zum Publizieren in Open Access? Dann ist das Team vom Data Services & Open Access (DSOA) der Universität Zürich gerne für Sie da. Die Abteilung Data Services & Open Access (DSOA) ist eine gemeinsame Initiative der UZH und der ZB. Das DSOA unterhält für die Universität das Repositorium ZORA und beantwortet Fragen zum Publizieren in Open Access. Die ZB unterstützt das DSOA bei Anfragen aus den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften.

Sie möchten als Privatperson mehr über Open Access erfahren oder haben Fragen und Anregungen? Dann wenden Sie sich gerne per Mail an uns.

Hier finden Sie weitergehende Informationen zu Open Access: