Wollishofen – village, commune, community

The first page of the «Gesez Formel der burgerlichen Privat Abend Geselschaft zu Wollish» dated 1798. It is located in the corporation archive of the Wollishofen Reading Society in the Manuscript Department of the Zentralbibliothek Zürich (image: ZB Zürich)

Wollishofen did not become an independent commune until 1803. Prior to that, the village, along with Enge, formed the greater bailiwick of Wollishofen. The village itself consisted of the three districts of Honrain, Wollishofen and Erdbrust.

The sources soon reveal a nascent Wollishofen identity, but it only really came into its own following the end of the Ancien Régime when, in 1798 – the year of the Helvetic Revolution – a citizens’ evening society was founded. It brought together the village elite, but also provided a home for dedicated Wollishofers. It continues to this day as a reading society.

Aussersihl wants to be part of the city

A «panorama of greater Zurich», around 1893 (image: ZB Zürich)

The population of the city of Zurich and its surrounding communes grew sharply in the 19th century, in most cases due to immigration by families from elsewhere. This changed the relationship between the city and the communes.

The industrial commune of Aussersihl was particularly keen to be incorporated into the city. In 1861 its communal president submitted a petition to that effect to the City Council of Zurich. It was rejected and there was no immediate follow-up. However, a second motion to the Cantonal Council in 1885 gave rise to a substantial political movement.

The protest against incorporation in Wollishofen is documented in the minutes of the Cantonal Council dated 2 February 1891 (image: Canton of Zurich State Archives)

A preparatory committee then drew up an application to incorporate a further ten communes along with Aussersihl. Despite an official protest by Wollishofen, the Cantonal Council adopted the «Law concerning the incorporation of the communes of Aussersihl, Enge, Fluntern, Hirslanden, Hottingen, Oberstrass, Riesbach, Unterstrass, Wiedikon, Wipkingen and Wollishofen into the City of Zurich» in 1891.

Wollishofen fights to retain its independence

Zurich and the «outer communes» on a map, around 1860 (image: ZB Zürich)

The referendum campaign stirred powerful emotions. Those in favour invoked solidarity and a common destiny; those against deployed the arguments of federalism and venerable tradition. On 9 August 1891, the law was approved, with 37,843 voting in favour and 24,904 against. Only Wollishofen and Enge – the latter by a very small margin – rejected the proposal, but there was also strong opposition in Zurich, Fluntern, Hottingen and Riesbach.

After a heated session of the communal assembly, Wollishofen lodged an appeal against the result, arguing that incorporation against the wishes of the commune concerned was unconstitutional. The Federal Supreme Court dismissed the appeal, essentially on the grounds that Zurich’s Constitution of 1869 did not offer a guarantee to the communes.

Why did Wollishofen oppose the proposal?

To this day, opinions differ as to why Wollishofen took an active part in the preparatory committee, but came out heavily against the move in the cantonal vote. One important aspect that sheds some light on the result is that there were no consultative votes before the final vote at cantonal level. That in itself, however, is not enough to explain Wollishofen’s rejection.

The Historical Lexicon of Switzerland refers only to the commune’s wealth. A more important factor is likely to have been that Wollishofen was still a largely rural community and had developed a strong sense of identity. In any event, the members of the Wollishofen Guild, which was founded after the incorporation, had to pledge «to preserve the particular character of their village as far as possible against the rapidly expanding city». That passage was later removed from the articles of association.

A cultural rapprochement

The disappearance of the guild’s traditionalist pledge is an indication that, as time passed, the people of Wollishofen came to terms with their incorporation. A number of factors contributed to this, such as the early extension of the tram route beyond Enge to Wollishofen.

The art historian Conrad Escher (1882–1944) also made an interesting observation, putting forward in his 1906 work «Rückblick in die Vergangenheit» the idea that relocating the orphanage to Wollishofen would «attach it more to the city and invigorate in its inhabitants the sense of belonging to our community». He thus viewed the transfer of the venerable institution of the orphanage to Wollishofen as a form of compensation for the forcible incorporation the commune had undergone.

The orphanage in Wollishofen in the 1910s or 1920s (image: ZB Zürich)

Wollishofen today

An aerial view of Wollishofen with the Rote Fabrik, community centre and wharf. In the background is Leimbach (image: Juliet Haller / City of Zurich Architectural Archives)
Do the scars from that time still persist? No. Almost no-one is aware of the injustice that Wollishofen suffered back then. Nevertheless, Wollishofen might have been more careful with its inheritance. In the 1950s and 1960s and indeed right up until the present day, all too much of its historic fabric has been sacrificed with seemingly little thought to a development that threatens to transform Wollishofen into a faceless residential district.

The Weisse Fabrik on Bachstrasse and Mythenquai, probably around 1930 (image: City of Zurich Architectural Archives)

Inevitably, the former farmers’ gardens have vanished, and of course the few remaining industrial buildings have been put to new uses. Wollishofen’s rare treasures on the lake shore – the Mythenquai baths, the Saffa-Inseli, the community centre on Bachstrasse, the Rote Fabrik along with the Weisse Fabrik, the lake restaurant and the Fischerstube – may not be under direct threat; but in the residential areas, densification threatens to destroy the district’s quality of life.

Whatever the future holds, everyone now accepts that Wollishofen is part of the city.


Dr. Sebastian Brändli, historian
www.wollipedia.ch
March 2022

You can also find the Wollipedia blog on our Zurich Open Platform (ZOP).

Header image: Wollishofen in around 1900 on a picture postcard (ZB Zürich)

Wollishofen – Dorf, Gemeinde, Gemeinschaft

Die erste Seite der «Gesez Formel der burgerlichen Privat Abend Geselschaft zu Wollish.» von 1798.<br /> Sie befindet sich im Körperschaftsarchiv der Lesegesellschaft Wollishofen in der Handschriftenabteilung der Zentralbibliothek Zürich (Bild: ZB Zürich)

Wollishofen war erst ab 1803 eine selbständige Gemeinde. Davor bildete das Dorf, zusammen mit der Enge, die Obervogtei Wollishofen. Das Dorf selbst bestand aus den drei Wachten Honrain, Wollishofen und Erdbrust.

In den Quellen blitzt schon früh eine Wollishofer Identität auf. Ganz klar zeigte sie sich allerdings erst nach dem Ende des Ancien Régime, als just im Jahr 1798 – dem Jahr der Helvetischen Revolution – eine Bürgerliche Abendgesellschaft gegründet wurde. Sie vereinte nicht nur die Dorfelite, sondern verkörperte auch eine Heimat für engagierte Wollishofer. Als Lesegesellschaft besteht sie noch heute.

Aussersihl will zur Stadt gehören

Ein «Panorama von Gross-Zürich», um 1893 (Bild: ZB Zürich)

In der Stadt Zürich und ihren Vorortsgemeinden wuchs die Bevölkerung im 19. Jahrhundert stark an, meistens durch Zuzug fremder Familien. Das veränderte das Verhältnis zwischen der Stadt und den Gemeinden.

Vor allem die Industriegemeinde Aussersihl bemühte sich darum, in die Stadt eingemeindet zu werden. 1861 gelangte der Aussersihler Gemeindepräsident mit einer entsprechenden Petition an den Stadtrat von Zürich. Sie wurde abgelehnt und hatte keine direkten Folgen. Doch ein zweiter Vorstoss 1885 an den Kantonsrat löste eine starke politische Bewegung aus.

Der Protest von Wollishofen gegen die Eingemeindung ist im Kantonsratsprotokoll vom 2. Februar 1891 dokumentiert (Bild: Staatsarchiv des Kantons Zürich)

Eine Vorbereitungskommission erarbeitete darauf einen Antrag, zusammen mit Aussersihl weitere zehn Gemeinden einzugemeinden. Trotz offiziellem Protest von Wollishofen beschloss der Kantonsrat 1891 das «Gesetz betreffend die Zutheilung der Gemeinden Aussersihl, Enge, Fluntern, Hirslanden, Hottingen, Oberstrass, Riesbach, Unterstrass, Wiedikon, Wipkingen u. Wollishofen an die Stadt Zürich».

Wollishofen kämpft um seine Unabhängigkeit

Zürich und die «Ausgemeinden» auf einer Karte, um 1860 (Bild: ZB Zürich)

Der Abstimmungskampf wurde sehr emotional geführt. Befürworter argumentierten mit Solidarität und gemeinsamem Schicksal, Gegner mit Föderalismus und althergebrachter Tradition. In der Abstimmung vom 9. August 1891 wurde das Gesetz mit 37‘843 Ja- gegen 24‘904 Nein-Stimmen angenommen. Nur Wollishofen und Enge, letztere sehr knapp, lehnten die Vorlage ab, aber auch in Zürich, Fluntern, Hottingen und Riesbach war die Opposition gross.

Wollishofen legte nach einer engagiert geführten Gemeindeversammlung Beschwerde gegen das Abstimmungsresultat ein: Eine Eingemeindung gegen den Willen der betroffenen Gemeinde sei nicht verfassungskonform. Das Bundesgericht wies dies aber ab. Im Wesentlichen mit der Begründung, die Zürcher Verfassung von 1869 kenne keine Gemeindegarantie.

Weshalb die Ablehnung in Wollishofen?

Bis heute ist umstritten, weshalb Wollishofen zwar in der vorbereitenden Kommission mitwirkte, in der kantonalen Abstimmung den Schritt jedoch massiv ablehnte. Eine wichtige Rahmenbedingung, die zum Verständnis beiträgt: Vor der endgültigen kantonalen Abstimmung gab es keine Konsultativabstimmungen. Aber damit ist der Grund für die Wollishofer Ablehnung noch nicht erhellt.

Das Historische Lexikon der Schweiz verweist allein auf den Reichtum der Gemeinde. Wichtiger dürfte der Umstand gewesen sein, dass Wollishofen noch bäuerlich geprägt war und ein starkes Identitätsgefühl entwickelt hatte. Die Mitglieder der Zunft Wollishofen, gegründet nach der Eingemeindung, mussten jedenfalls geloben, «die Eigenart ihres Dorfes gegen die sich rasch ausbreitende Stadt so weit als möglich zu erhalten». Dieser Passus wurde später aus den Statuten gestrichen.

Kulturelle Annäherungen

Das Wegfallen des traditionalistischen Gelöbnisses der Zunft ist ein Zeichen dafür, dass sich die Wollishofer im Laufe der Zeit mit der Eingemeindung abfinden konnten. Dazu trugen verschiedene Faktoren bei, etwa die frühe Verlängerung der Tramverbindung über die Enge hinaus nach Wollishofen.

Interessant ist auch eine Beobachtung des Kunsthistorikers Conrad Escher (1882-1944). Er warf bei seinem «Rückblick in die Vergangenheit» 1906 den Gedanken auf, Wollishofen mit der Verlegung des Waisenhauses mehr «an die Stadt zu attachieren, und in seinen Bewohnern das Gefühl der Zusammengehörigkeit mit unserem Gemeinwesen noch lebendiger werden zu lassen». Der Transfer der ehrenwerten Institution des Waisenhauses nach Wollishofen war für ihn also etwas wie eine Wiedergutmachung für die erlittene zwangsweise Eingemeindung.

Das Waisenhaus in Wollishofen in den 1910er- oder 1920er-Jahren (Bild: ZB Zürich)

Wollishofen heute

Eine Luftaufnahme von Wollishofen mit der Roten Fabrik, dem Gemeinschaftszentrum und der Werft. Im Hintergrund Leimbach  <br />(Bild: Juliet Haller / Baugeschichtliches Archiv der Stadt Zürich)
Bestehen heute noch Wunden aus jener Zeit? Nein. Denn kaum jemand weiss vom damals erlittenen Unrecht. Dennoch sollte Wollishofen zu seinem Erbe Sorge tragen. Allzu viel Denkmalschutzwürdiges wurde in den 1950er- und 60er-Jahren, ja wird bis heute relativ bedenkenlos einer Entwicklung geopfert, die droht, aus Wollishofen ein gesichtsloses Wohnquartier zu machen.

Die Weisse Fabrik an der Bachstrasse und dem Mythenquai, wohl um 1930 <br />(Bild: Baugeschichtliches Archiv der Stadt Zürich)

Natürlich mussten die einstigen Bauerngärten verschwinden, natürlich sind unterdessen auch die wenigen verbliebenen Industriebauten einer neuen Nutzung zugeführt. Zwar dürften die Wollishofer Raritäten am Seeufer nicht direkt bedroht sein: das Strandbad Mythenquai, das Saffa-Inseli, das Gemeinschaftszentrum an der Bachstrasse, neben der Roten auch die Weisse Fabrik, das Seerestaurant und die Fischerstube. Aber im Wohngebiet droht die Verdichtung das Lebenswerte des Quartiers zu zerstören.

Wie auch immer es weitergehen wird: Dass Wollishofen zur Stadt gehört, ist heute ganz selbstverständlich.


Dr. Sebastian Brändli, Historiker
www.wollipedia.ch
März 2022

Den Wollipedia-Blog finden Sie auch auf unserer Zurich Open Platform (ZOP)

Header-Bild: Wollishofen um 1900 auf einer Ansichtskarte (ZB Zürich)