Alfred Escher, wood engraving by Emil Friedrich Graf, 1880, call number: ZB Graphische Sammlung (GSM) Escher, Alfred I, 2

Alfred Escher and his times

Family

Alfred Escher was born in Zurich on 20 February 1819. The Escher zum Glas family was one of the leading dynasties in the old city. Alfred’s father, Heinrich Escher, amassed a fortune through land speculation and trading activities in the US. Returning to Zurich, he commissioned the building of the Villa Belvoir, where he lived as a gentleman of means.

Postcard of the Belvoir Park, Zurich around 1875, call number: ZB Graphische Sammlung (GSM) Zürich 2.1, Belvoir I, 2

It was in this sheltered environment that Heinrich’s children Clementine and Alfred Escher grew up – as, later, did their daughter Lydia. Alfred Escher passed his school-leaving exam at the cantonal grammar school in 1837 and went on to read law at the University of Zurich. While studying in Bonn, Berlin and Paris, he became committed to the liberal cause. He received the highest grade for his dissertation. Escher called for the establishment of an independent university and made public statements attacking the clergy. The “Züriputsch” of 1839 ultimately prompted a resurgence of the reactionary conservative elite, much to Escher’s displeasure.

Our Department of Prints and Drawings and Photo Archive includes a number of portraits and photos of Alfred Escher and his family. Many can be consulted online and downloaded.

Alfred Escher with his parents Heinrich and Lydia Escher-Zollikofer, sister and brother-in-law Clementine and Caspar Stockar-Escher and their sons Armin and Egbert, Zurich, September 1846, call number: ZB Graphische Sammlung (GSB) Escher-Zollikofer, Hrch. I, 2

Political titan and business magnate

In 1844, the radical liberal lawyer Jonas Furrer from Winterthur persuaded the 25-year-old Alfred Escher to stand for election to the Grand Council. It was the beginning of Escher’s career. The people of Zurich were soon calling him “King Alfred I”. He assiduously accumulated official positions, founded companies such as the “Schweizerische Kreditanstalt (SKA)” bank, and promoted the development of the ETH and the expansion of the railways. Above all, though, he cultivated a powerful network of influence that enabled him to combine economic and political goals. The “Escher system” made him one of the most influential men of his time, engineering Zurich’s economic ascendancy and leading Switzerland into the modern era.

You can find out more about Alfred Escher’s role in building the railways in the documentary “Gotthardtunnel – Das Jahrhundertwerk” in the SRF DOK series.

Postcard of Paradeplatz with the building of the Schweizerische Kreditanstalt, co-founded by Alfred Escher in 1856, to the left, Zurich 1915, call number: ZB Graphische Sammlung (GSL) Ansichtskarten, ZH, Kreis 1:J, 2

Opposition

Soon, the new liberal elite of finance and industry came to resemble the supposedly defunct Ancien Régime. There was growing criticism of the “Escher system”. After the democrats’ election victory in Zurich and the approval of a cantonal constitution by voters in 1869, the “Escher system” came to an end. Escher continued to play a major role in the construction of the Gotthard railway. Problems financing the project ultimately led to a rift with Federal Councillor Emil Welti, who called on him to step down as chairman. This was the lowest point of his career. He was not invited to the tunnel breakthrough in 1880 and his name was not even mentioned. He did receive an invitation to the opening of the Gotthard railway in 1882, but by this stage he was already terminally ill. Alfred Escher died six months later, on 6 December.

The documentary “Aufstieg und Fall des Schweizer Wirtschaftspioniers” in the SRF DOK series offers an insight into an age when Switzerland was evolving from an agricultural into an industrial nation. It was also an era of profound social upheaval.

Vita

1819-1834

Birth, family move to the Belvoir

Born on 20 February 1819 in the “Kleiner Neuberg” on Hirschengraben in Zurich. His father Heinrich Escher is a merchant and insect collector. His mother, Lydia Zollikofer von Altenklingen, hails from a long-established family of St. Gallen merchants.

※※※※※

In 1831 the Escher family moves into the stately Villa Belvoir in the commune of Enge, now part of the city of Zurich. Here, Alfred Escher and his sister receive private tuition. Their father wants to prevent them from being exposed to influences beyond his control. Alfred is mainly given lessons in Latin, Greek, mathematics, geography and natural history. A frail and sickly child, he is also taught gymnastics.

The Belvoir Park in a print from around 1835.
ZB Department of Prints and Drawings, call number: Zürich 2.1, Belvoir I, 1

1834-1837

Cantonal school

From 1834 to 1837 Alfred Escher attends the newly established cantonal school, where he passes the school leaving exam. His main interest is in the natural sciences. For the first time, the youthful Alfred is active in a class association. He sets up a literary club, reading circle and natural science circle.

The cantonal school building (now part of the University of Zurich) in a coloured aquatint from around 1860.
ZB Department of Prints and Drawings, call number: Zürich G1, Universitäts-Qu., Kantonsschule I, 7

1837-1842

University degree and doctorate

From 1837 to 1842 Alfred Escher studies law at the University of Zurich, founded four years previously. During his studies he embarks on a semester abroad in Bonn and Berlin, but is obliged to cut it short owing to a serious illness.

※※※※※

While at university, Escher is a member of the student fraternity Zofingia, and serves as its overall president from 1840 to 1841. The liberally minded Zofingia is one of the three big student fraternities in Switzerland at the time. It exerts a great influence on the development of Escher’s personality and his views on national politics.

As a student, Escher is a regular at the Café Baur (now Ristorante Orsini), where Gottfried Keller is also often to be found.

※※※※※

Alfred Escher obtains his doctorate in 1842 with a dissertation entitled “De testium ratione quae Romae Ciceronis aetate obtuinit”. He then spends half a year in Paris, attending lectures and forging political plans.

The main building of the University of Zurich in a 1915 print by F. Walthard.
ZB Department of Prints and Drawings, call number: Zürich, Universität I, 15

1844-1848

Private lecturer and early political career

From 1844 to 1847 Escher gives private lectures on German, French and Swiss law at the University of Zurich.

※※※※※

In 1844 Escher becomes a member of Zurich’s cantonal council (Grand Council). He is even its president on a number of occasions, retaining his seat until his death.

※※※※※

From 29 June 1847 to the end of 1848 Escher is First Official Secretary [GS1] of the Canton of Zurich. Gottfried Keller serves under him as an unsalaried clerk in the Zurich Cantonal Chancellery.

※※※※※

From 26 June 1848 to 1855, Escher is a member of Zurich’s cantonal government, serving for four years as its president.

※※※※※

On 15 October 1848 Escher becomes a member of the first National Council. He remains on the Council until his death, serving a number of terms as President.

※※※※※

During the 1840s, Escher gathers with other up-and-coming young liberals, including Gottfried Keller, for their Wednesday meeting in the Café Littéraire.

Weinplatz with a view of the Rathausbrücke on a coloured aquatint by Johannes Ruf from around 1835; one façade of the town hall (far left) and the Red Tower (the tall gabled house to the right) along with the Café Littéraire can easily be made out.
ZB Department of Prints and Drawings, call number: Zürich, Weinplatz I 8 Pp A4

 


 

 

[GS1] Bezüglich der Übersetzung dieses Begriffs gehen die Quellen ziemlich auseinander; so findet man alles von "clerk" bis "Chief Administrator" (https://www.alfred-escher.ch/en/alfred-escher/chronology/). Bei Gottfried Keller hatten wir bereits "Official Secretary"; gemäss Termdat könnte es sogar "(Cantonal) Chancellor" heissen: https://www.termdat.bk.admin.ch/Entry/EntryDetail/105370?strLanguages=2-6-7-8-3&isPartialView=0

1853-1856

Chairman of the Swiss North-Eastern Railway

On 12 September 1853 Escher is appointed Chairman of the Swiss North-Eastern Railway.

The previous year he has campaigned at federal level for the Railway Act. He entrusts the construction and operation of the railways to private companies, and grants the cantons the concession to issue the rail franchises.

※※※※※

On 2 August 1854 he becomes Vice-President of the Federal School Council, the governing body of the Polytechnic Institute (now the ETH Zurich).

※※※※※

From 1856 to 1877 Alfred Escher is Chairman of the Board of the Schweizerische Kreditanstalt (SKA), the bank that is today’s Credit Suisse. It is set up to raise the large amounts of capital needed for railway construction. It is the third major institution Escher has supported, after the North-Eastern Railway and the Polytechnic.

Postcard of Paradeplatz with the Schweizerische Kreditanstalt in around 1910.
ZB Department of Prints and Drawings, call number: Ansichtskarten, ZH, Kreis 1:J, 19

1857

Marriage; life insurance and annuity company

On 23 April 1857 Alfred Escher marries Auguste Uebel, who is aged 19 at the time.

※※※※※

In December 1857 he joins the supervisory board of the Schweizerische Lebensversicherungs- und Rentenanstalt (Swiss Life Insurance and Annuity Company, now Swiss Life).

Escher’s wife Auguste Uebel in around 1855.
ZB Prints and Drawings Department, call number: Escher-Uebel, Auguste I, 1

1858-1864

Children, wife’s death

Escher’s first child, Lydia, is born on 10 July 1858.

※※※※※

Escher’s second daughter, Hedwig, is born in 1861; however, she dies the following year.

※※※※※

In 1864 Escher’s wife Auguste dies of tuberculosis, aged just 26.

Escher’s first-born daughter Lydia in around 1860.
ZB Department of Prints and Drawings, call number: Nachlass Clementine Stockar-Escher, Fotoalbum 1

1871-1880

Gotthard Railway Company

In 1871 Italy and the German Empire ratify the Gotthard Agreement, paving the way for the construction of the Gotthard Railway.

When the Gotthard Railway Company is founded, Escher is appointed Chairman. He takes charge of the first department (railway policy issues, construction).

※※※※※

In 1874 it becomes evident that the project will cost far more than predicted; moreover, construction of the tunnel is behind schedule.

The Federal Assembly grants the Swiss portion of the supplementary subsidy, subject to Escher resigning as a member and Chairman of the Gotthard Railway Company.

The North-Eastern Railway hits a crisis at the same time.

※※※※※

The breakthrough at the Gotthard takes place on 28 February 1880. Alfred Escher is not invited to the ceremony, and his name is not even mentioned.

Escher is also omitted from the guest list at the anniversary celebrations of the Polytechnic Institute, and once again no reference is made to him.

That same year, Escher is again elected Chairman of the Schweizerische Kreditanstalt.

The Gotthard Railway at Amsteg, around 1900.
ZB Department of Prints and Drawings, call number: Sammlung Photochrom, Schweiz

1882

Opening of the Gotthard Railway and death

Having been ignored at the breakthrough ceremony, Escher is invited to the formal opening of the Gotthard Railway on 2 May 1882, but is obliged to decline for health reasons. His name and achievements are referred to at the event.

※※※※※

Alfred Escher is in increasingly poor health, and dies on 6 December 1882 at the age of 63.

Alfred Escher aged 60, in an etching by Édouard Jeanmaire dating from 1883.
ZB Department of Prints and Drawings, call number: Escher, Alfred I, 9

1889

Alfred Escher monument

In 1889 the Alfred Escher monument is inaugurated on Bahnhofplatz in Zurich.

Postcard of Bahnhofstrasse with the Alfred Escher monument, around 1912.
ZB Department of Prints and Drawings, call number: Ansichtskarten, ZH, Kreis 1:K, 68

Estates

The Manuscript Department holds the Escher vom Glas and Escher vom Luchs family archives. The Escher vom Glas family archive includes part of the literary estate of Alfred Escher; the bulk of it is in the Swiss Federal Archives in Bern.

The preserved correspondence was published by the Alfred Escher Foundation. Explore the digital edition of Escher’s letters and discover Alfred Escher the networker.

Alfred Escher in the press

If you would like to know what newspapers and periodicals have to say about Alfred Escher, consult the Zurich Bibliography.

Literature about Alfred Escher

Literature about Alfred Escher held by the Zentralbibliothek can be found in the Rechercheportal.

200 years of Alfred Escher and Gottfried Keller

Follow the Trails of the Future and take part in a range of events shedding light on two leading Zurich personalities from a variety of perspectives.

Logo of the “200 years of Alfred Escher and Gottfried Keller” association, spurenderzukunft.ch

Alfred Escher, Holzstich von Emil Friedrich Graf, 1880, Signatur: ZB Graphische Sammlung (GSM) Escher, Alfred I, 2

Alfred Escher und seine Zeit

Familie

Alfred Escher wurde am 20. Februar 1819 in Zürich geboren. Die Familie Escher zum Glas gehörte zu den bedeutendsten Geschlechtern des alten Zürich. Sein Vater, Heinrich Escher, erwirtschaftete in den USA durch Landspekulationen und Handelsgeschäfte ein Millionenvermögen. Zurück in Zürich liess Heinrich Escher das Landhaus «Belvoir» bauen und lebte als Privatier.

Ansichtskarte mit Belvoir-Park, Zürich um 1875, Signatur: ZB Graphische Sammlung (GSM) Zürich 2.1, Belvoir I, 2

In dieser abgeschirmten Umgebung wuchsen die Kinder Clementine und Alfred Escher auf und später auch die Tochter Lydia. 1837 legte Alfred Escher am kantonalen Gymnasium seine Maturaprüfung ab und studierte danach an der Universität Zürich Rechtswissenschaft. Studienaufenthalte in Bonn, Berlin und Paris trugen dazu bei, dass er sich zu einem überzeugten Liberalen entwickelte. Für seine Dissertation erhielt er die Bestnote. Escher forderte eine unabhängige Universität und äusserte sich öffentlich antiklerikal. Der «Züriputsch» von 1839 führte schliesslich zum Wiedererstarken der reaktionären konservativen Elite, sehr zum Missfallen Eschers.

In unserer «Graphischen Sammlung und Fotoarchiv» finden Sie mehrere Portraitbilder und Fotos von Alfred Escher und seinen Familienangehörigen. Viele dieser Bilder können Sie online konsultieren und downloaden.

Alfred Escher mit seinen Eltern Heinrich und Lydia Escher-Zollikofer, Schwester und Schwager Clementine und Caspar Stockar-Escher und deren Söhne Armin und Egbert, Zürich im September 1846, Signatur: ZB Graphische Sammlung (GSB) Escher-Zollikofer, Hrch. I, 2

Polit-Titan und Wirtschaftsmagnat

Der radikal-liberale Winterthurer Anwalt Jonas Furrer überzeugte den 25-jährigen Alfred Escher 1844 für den Grossen Rat zu kandidieren. Es war der Beginn von Alfred Eschers Karriere. «König Alfred I.» nannten ihn die Zürcher bald. Zielstrebig kumulierte er Ämter, gründete Unternehmen wie die «Schweizerische Kreditanstalt (SKA)», förderte den Aufbau der ETH und den Ausbau der Eisenbahn. Vor allem aber pflegte er ein wirkungsmächtiges Netzwerk, das ihm ermöglichte, wirtschaftliche und politische Ziele zu verbinden. Das «System Escher» liess ihn zu einem der einflussreichsten Männer seiner Zeit werden, der Zürichs ökonomischen Aufstieg in die Wege leitete und die Schweiz in die Moderne führte.

Mehr zur Rolle von Alfred Escher beim Ausbau der Eisenbahn sehen Sie im Dokumentarfilm «Gotthardtunnel – Das Jahrhundertwerk» der Reihe SRF DOK.

Ansichtskarte von Paradeplatz mit links dem Gebäude der Schweizerischen Kreditanstalt, von Alfred Escher 1856 mitgegründet, Zürich 1915, Signatur: ZB Graphische Sammlung (GSL) Ansichtskarten, ZH, Kreis 1:J, 2

Opposition

Bald glich die neue liberale Elite aus Finanz- und Industrie jener des bereits vergessen geglaubten Ancien Régime. Die Kritik am «System Escher» wuchs. Nach dem Wahlsieg der Demokraten in Zürich und der Annahme einer Kantonsverfassung 1869 durch das Stimmvolk war das «System Escher» am Ende. Eine wichtige Rolle spielte er nach wie vor beim Bau der Gotthardbahn. Probleme bei der Finanzierung des Projektes führten schliesslich zum Bruch mit Bundesrat Emil Welti, der ihn zum Rücktritt als Direktionspräsident aufforderte. Damit war Eschers tiefer Fall besiegelt. Zum Durchstich des Tunnels 1880 wurde er nicht eingeladen, nicht einmal sein Name fand Erwähnung. Zur Eröffnung der Gotthardbahn 1882 erhielt er zwar eine Einladung, war aber bereits todkrank. Ein halbes Jahr später, am 6. Dezember, starb Alfred Escher.

Der Dokumentarfilm «Aufstieg und Fall des Schweizer Wirtschaftspioniers» aus der Reihe SRF DOK gibt Einblick in diese Zeit als sich die Schweiz von einem Agrar- zu einem Industrieland entwickelte. Damit einher gingen tiefgreifende, gesellschaftliche Umwälzungen.

Lebenslauf

1819-1834

Geburt und Umzug der Familie ins Belvoir

Geburt am 20. Februar 1819 im «Kleinen Neuberg» am Hirschengraben in Zürich. Sein Vater Heinrich Escher ist ein Kaufmann und Insektensammler. Mutter Lydia Zollikofer von Altenklingen stammt aus einem sankt-gallischen Kaufmannsgeschlecht.

※※※※※

1831 bezieht die Familie Escher das herrschaftliche Landhaus Belvoir in der Gemeinde Enge, heute Teil der Stadt Zürich. Alfred Escher und seine Schwester werden hier privat unterrichtet. Der Vater will vermeiden, dass die Kinder unkontrollierbaren Einflüssen ausgesetzt sind. Alfred wird hauptsächlich in den Fächern Latein, Griechisch, Mathematik, Geographie und Naturkunde unterrichtet. Da er ein schmächtiges und kränkliches Kind ist, erhält er auch Turnunterricht.

Das Belvoirpark in einer Druckgraphik um 1835.
ZB Graphisce Sammlung, Signatur: Zürich 2.1, Belvoir I, 1

1834-1837

Kantonsschule

Von 1834 bis 1837 besucht Alfred Escher die neu gegründete Kantonsschule und erlangt die Maturität. Er interessiert sich vor allem für die Naturwissenschaften. Zum ersten Mal bewegt sich der Jugendliche Alfred in einem Klassenverband. Er initiiert einen literarischen Verein, einen Lesezirkel und einen naturwissenschaftlichen Zirkel.

Die damalige Kantonsschule (heute ein Gebäude der Universität Zürich) in einer kolorierten Aquatinta um 1860.
ZB Graphische Sammlung, Signatur: Zürich G1, Universitäts-Qu., Kantonsschule I, 7

1837-1842

Studium und Promotion

Von 1837 bis 1842 studiert Alfred Escher Rechtswissenschaften an der vier Jahre zuvor gegründeten Universität Zürich. Während des Studiums verbringt er ein Aufenthaltssemester in Bonn und Berlin, das er aber wegen einer schweren Krankheit vorzeitig abbrechen muss.

※※※※※

Während des Studiums ist Escher Mitglied der Studentenverbindung Zofingia, von 1840 bis 1841 amtet er sogar als Zentralpräsident. Die liberal ausgerichtete Zofingia ist damals eine der drei grossen Studentenverbindungen der Schweiz. Der Verein hat grossen Einfluss auf Eschers Persönlichkeitsentwicklung und staatspolitische Meinungsbildung.

Als Student verkehrt Escher im Café Baur (heute Ristorante Orsini), wo auch Gottfried Keller oft anzutreffen ist.

※※※※※

Alfred Escher erlangt die Promotion 1842 mit der Doktorarbeit «De testium ratione quae Romae Ciceronis aetate obtuinit». Anschliessend verbringt er ein halbes Jahr in Paris. Dort besucht er Vorlesungen und schmiedet politische Pläne.

Das Hauptgebäude der Universität Zürich in einer Druckgraphik von F. Walthard aus 1915.
ZB Graphische Sammlung, Signatur: Zürich, Universität I, 15

1844-1848

Privatdozent und Anfang der politischen Karriere

Von 1844 bis 1847 hält Escher als Privatdozent Vorlesungen über deutsches, französisches und schweizerisches Recht an der Universität Zürich.

※※※※※

Ab 1844 ist Escher Mitglied des Zürcher Kantonsrats (Grossrat). Er präsidiert sogar den Rat mehrmals und wird den Sitz bis zu seinem Tod innehalten.

※※※※※

Vom 29. Juni 1847 bis Ende 1848 ist Escher Staatsschreiber des Kantons Zürich. Gottfried Keller absolviert unter ihm ein Volontariat in der Zürcher Staatskanzlei.

※※※※※

Vom 26. Juni 1848 bis 1855 ist Escher Regierungsrat des Kantons Zürich, während vier Jahren sogar Regierungspräsident.

※※※※※

Am 15. Oktober 1848 wird Escher Mitglied des ersten Nationalrates. Er bleibt bis zu seinem Tod Nationalrat und amtet mehrmals als Nationalratspräsident.

※※※※※

Während den 1840er-Jahren trifft sich Escher im Café littéraire mit anderen aufstrebenden Jungen Liberalen, unter anderem auch Gottfried Keller, in der Mittwochsgesellschaft. 

Der Weinplatz mit Rathausbrücke auf einer kolorierten Aquatinta von Johannes Ruf um 1835, eine Rathausfassade (ganz links) und der Rote Turm (das hohe Giebelhaus rechts) mit dem Café Litteraire sind gut erkennbar.
ZB Graphische Sammlung, Signatur: Zürich, Weinplatz I 8 Pp A4

1853-1856

Direktionspräsident der Schweizerischen Nordostbahn

Am 12. September 1853 wird Escher Direktionspräsident der Schweizerischen Nordostbahn.

Im Vorjahr setzt er sich auf eidgenössischer Ebene für das Eisenbahngesetz ein. Es überträgt den Bau und Betrieb der Bahnen an private Unternehmen, die Konzession für die Vergabe der Linien den Kantonen.

※※※※※

Am 2. August 1854 wird er Vizepräsident des Eidgenössischen Schulrats für das Polytechnikum (heute ETH Zürich).

※※※※※

Von 1856 bis 1877 ist Alfred Escher Verwaltungsratspräsident der Schweizerischen Kreditanstalt (SKA), heute Credit Suisse. Sie wird gegründet, um den hohen Kapitalbedarf des Bahnbaus zu decken. Nach Nordostbahn und Polytechnikum ist sie eine weitere grosse Gründung, für die sich Escher eingesetzt hat.

Ansichtskarte des Paradeplatzes mit Schweizerischem Kreditanstalt um 1910.
ZB Graphische Sammlung, Signatur: Ansichtskarten, ZH, Kreis 1:J, 19

1857

Heirat und Lebensversicherungs- und Rentenanstalt

Am 23. April 1857 heiratet Alfred Escher heiratet die damals 19jährige Auguste Uebel.

※※※※※

 Im Dezember 1857 Aufsichtsrat der Schweizerischen Lebensversicherungs- und Rentenanstalt (heute Swiss Life).

Die Ehefrau Eschers Auguste Uebel um 1855.
ZB Graphische Sammlung, Signatur: Escher-Uebel, Auguste I, 1

1858-1864

Kinder und Tod der Ehefrau

Am 10. Juli 1858 kommt Eschers erstes Kind zur Welt, Lydia Escher.

※※※※※

Im Jahr 1861 kommt die zweite Tochter Hedwig Escher auf die Welt, sie verstirbt aber im Folgejahr.

※※※※※

1864 stirbt Eschers Ehefrau Auguste im Alter von 26 Jahren an Tuberkulose.

Die erstgeborene Tochter Lydia Escher um 1860.
ZB Graphische Sammlung, Signatur: Nachlass Clementine Stockar-Escher, Fotoalbum 1

1871-1880

Gotthardbahn-Gesellschaft

1871 ratifizieren Italien und das Deutsche Reich den Gotthardvertrag, der Bau der Gotthardbahn ist beschlossen.

Bei der Gründung der Gotthardbahn-Gesellschaft wird Escher zum Direktionspräsidenten gewählt. Er übernimmt das erste Departement (eisenbahnpolitische Angelegenheiten, Bauwesen).

※※※※※

1874 zeigt sich, dass der Bau massiv mehr kostet. Zudem ist der Tunnelbau im Rückstand.

Die eidgenössischen Räte gewähren den schweizerischen Anteil der Nachsubvention unter der Bedingung, dass Escher als Mitglied und Direktionspräsident der Gotthardbahn-Gesellschaft zurücktritt.

Zur gleichen Zeit wie die Gotthardbahn gerät auch die Nordostbahn in die Krise.

※※※※※

Am 28. Februar 1880 erfolgt der Gotthard-Durchstich. Alfred Escher ist nicht zur Feier des Durchstichs eingeladen. Sein Name wird an der Feier nicht mal erwähnt.

Auch bei der Jubiläumsfeier des Polytechnikums ist Escher nicht auf der Gästeliste und sein Name bleibt unerwähnt.

Im selben Jahr wird Escher erneut zum Verwaltungsratspräsident der Schweizerischen Kreditanstalt gewählt

Die Gotthardbahn bei Amsteg um 1900.
ZB Graphische Sammlung, Signatur: Sammlung Photochrom, Schweiz

1882

Eröffnung Gotthardbahn und Tod

Anders als beim Durchstich wird Escher dieses Mal zur feierlichen Eröffnung der Gotthardbahn am 2. Mai 1882 eingeladen. Er muss aber aus gesundheitlichen Gründen absagen. Sein Name und seine Verdienste werden an der Eröffnungsfeier erwähnt.

※※※※※

Sein Gesundheitszustand macht Alfred Escher immer mehr zu schaffen und er stirbt am 6. Dezember 1882 im Alter von 63 Jahren.

Der 60-jährige Alfred Escher in einer Radierung von Édouard Jeanmaire aus 1883.
ZB Graphische Sammlung, Signatur: Escher, Alfred I, 9

1889

Alfred-Escher-Denkmal

1889 wird das Alfred-Escher-Denkmal auf dem Zürcher Bahnhofplatz eingeweiht.

Ansichtskarte der Bahnhofstrasse mit Alfred-Escher-Denkmal um 1912.
ZB Graphische Sammlung, Signatur: Ansichtskarten, ZH, Kreis 1:K, 68

Nachlässe

Die Handschriftenabteilung führt die Familienarchive Escher vom Glas und Escher vom Luchs. Im Familienarchiv der Escher vom Glas finden Sie einen Teil des Nachlasses von Alfred Escher, der Hauptbestand befindet sich im Schweizerischen Bundesarchiv in Bern.

Der Korrespondenznachlass wurde von der Alfred Escher Stiftung publiziert. Tauchen Sie ein in die Digitale Escher-Briefedition und entdecken Sie den Netzwerker Alfred Escher.

Alfred Escher in der Presse

Sie wollen wissen, was über Alfred Escher in Zeitungen und Zeitschriften geschrieben wird? Dann konsultieren Sie die Zürcher Bibliographie.

Literatur über Alfred Escher

Literatur zu Alfred Escher im Bestand der Zentralbibliothek finden Sie im Rechercheportal.

200 Jahre Alfred Escher und Gottfried Keller

Begeben Sie sich auf die Spuren der Zukunft und nehmen Sie Teil an verschiedenen Anlässen, welche die Bedeutung der beiden Zürcher aus unterschiedlichen Sichtweisen beleuchten.

Logo des Vereins «200 Jahre Alfred Escher und Gottfried Keller», spurenderzukunft.ch