The e-rara platform

The logo of the e-rara platform

Holdings

The spectrum of digitised resources extends from books and maps to illustrated materials. You can search the platform for the following collections:

  • Swiss prints (15th–20th centuries)
  • Topics and collections (from alchemy to historical scientific literature)
  • Private libraries

You can access PDFs free of charge and zoom in on the high-quality digitised documents.

How the platform came about

The e-rara platform was created as part of the e-lib.ch (Electronic Library Switzerland) project and went live in 2010. Its aim is to make holdings in digital form accessible to a wide audience. The platform is operated jointly by the Bibliothèque de Genève, ETH Library, Basel University Library, Bern University Library and the Zentralbibliothek Zürich. Other libraries also make their holdings available on e-rara, and the range is continually being expanded.

The e-manuscripta platform

The logo of the e-manuscripta platform

Holdings

e-manuscripta offers digitised versions of a wide variety of documents:

  • Text manuscripts (individual and collective)
  • Correspondence from individuals and institutions
  • Sheet music
  • Manuscript maps
  • Drawings
  • Photos

The platform’s offering and functionalities are being continually expanded. You can use the high-quality digitised documents free of charge online or download them as PDFs. You can also make your own transcriptions of any texts you choose.

How the platform came about

The e-manuscripta platform was set up as a cooperation between three university libraries – the Zentralbibliothek Zürich, Basel University Library, and the ETH Library – using their own resources, and launched in 2013. It is still jointly operated by these three institutions and the Swiss National Library.

Linking digital versions together via IIIF

e-manuscripta has even more to offer: a special software allows you to import texts, letters, pictures, maps, music scores or miscellaneous items into a viewer, make comparisons with other works and edit the objects. To make this possible, e-manuscripta.ch has implemented the International Image Interoperability Framework (IIIF). Every title on e-manuscripta comes with the associated IIIF manifest.

Die Plattform e-rara

Das Logo der Plattform e-rara

Bestand

Das Spektrum der Digitalisate reicht von Büchern über Karten bis zu illustrierten Materialien. Sie können die Plattform nach folgenden Kollektionen durchsuchen:

  • Schweizer Drucke (15.-20. Jahrhundert)
  • Themen und Sammlungen (von Alchemie bis Wissenschaftsgeschichte)
  • Privatbibliotheken

Dabei können Sie kostenlos auf PDF's zugreifen, und die hochwertigen Digitalisate näher heranzoomen.

Wie die Plattform entstand

Die Plattform e-rara entstand im Rahmen des Projekts e-lib.ch: Elektronische Bibliothek Schweiz und wurde im Jahr 2010 aufgeschaltet. Ziel ist es, Bestände in digitaler Form einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. Die Plattform wird von der Bibliothèque de Genève, ETH-Bibliothek, Universitätsbibliothek Basel, Universitätsbibliothek Bern und Zentralbibliothek Zürich gemeinsam betrieben. Weitere Bibliotheken beteiligen sich mit ihren Beständen am Angebot, das ständig erweitert wird.

Die Plattform e-manuscripta

Logo der Plattform e-manuscripta

Bestand

e-manuscripta bietet Digitalisate von vielfältigen Dokumenten:

  • Texthandschriften (Einzel- und Sammelhandschriften)
  • Briefe von Personen und Institutionen
  • Musikalien
  • Manuskriptkarten
  • Zeichnungen
  • Fotos

Das Angebot und die Funktionalitäten der Plattform werden laufend ausgebaut. Sie können die hochwertigen Digitalisate kostenlos online nutzen oder als PDF herunterladen. Zudem haben Sie die Möglichkeit, zu frei wählbaren Texten selber Transkriptionen zu erstellen.

Wie die Plattform entstand

Die Plattform e-manuscripta wurde als Kooperationsprojekt von drei Schweizer Hochschulen – der Zentralbibliothek Zürich, der Universitätsbibliothek Basel und der ETH-Bibliothek – mit Eigenmittel aufgebaut, und im Jahr 2013 aufgeschaltet. Sie wird weiterhin von diesen drei Institutionen und der Schweizerischen Nationalbibliothek gemeinsam betrieben.

Digitalisate mittels IIIF vernetzen

Doch e-manuscripta bietet noch mehr: Dank einer speziellen Software können Sie Texte, Briefe, Bilder, Karten, Noten oder Varia in einen Viewer importieren. Dies erlaubt Ihnen, Vergleiche mit anderen Werken herzustellen und die Objekte zu bearbeiten. Um dies möglich zu machen hat e-manuscripta.ch das International Image Interoperability Framework (IIIF) implementiert. Bei jedem Titel auf e-manuscripta ist das zugehörige IIIF-Manifest zu finden.