We hold basic and study literature as well as general overviews on IT, mathematics, biology and medicine, astronomy, chemistry, physics and technology. Cartography is a special area within geography, comprising over 8,000 titles. Learn more in our subject areas.

Specialist areas

IT, mathematics

If you are looking for an introduction to algebra or Java, you will find basic literature on IT and mathematics at the Zentralbibliothek Zürich.

Scientific literature

We hold literature on all areas of IT, mathematics and mathematical statistics. You will also find works on the history of these subjects as well as popular science books.

Specialist libraries

The main sources of specialist literature on IT and mathematics in Zurich are the ETH Library and the Main Library (HBZ) of the University of Zurich. The HBZ offers individual consulting and training courses.

Contact and services

If you have any questions relating to IT and mathematics, contact:

Astronomy, chemistry, physics, technology

Key literature on astronomy, chemistry, physics and technology is available from the Zentralbibliothek Zürich.

Scientific literature

We hold basic and study literature on all sub-areas of astronomy, chemistry, physics and technology. In addition to works on historical aspects we also hold a selection of popular science publications.

Specialist libraries

The main sources of specialist literature on astronomy, chemistry, physics and technology in Zurich are the ETH Library and the Main Library (HBZ) of the University of Zurich. The HBZ offers individual consulting and training courses.

Contact and services

If you have any questions relating to astronomy, chemistry, physics and technology, contact:

Biology, medicine

Why do birds sing? How do fasciae work? For answers to these questions and more, the Zentralbibliothek Zürich offers basic literature on biology and medicine.

Scientific literature

  • Our collection of biology literature focuses on botany, zoology and anthropology.
  • Our medicine collections include both orthodox and alternative medicine as well as advice books on health issues.

Specialist libraries

The main sources of specialist literature on biology and medicine in Zurich are the ETH Library and the Main Library (HBZ) of the University of Zurich. The HBZ offers individual consulting and training courses.

Contact and services

If you have any questions relating to biology and medicine, contact

Geography, cartography, spatial planning

Geography also includes cartography and spatial planning. The Zentralbibliothek Zürich focuses on human geography and the history of cartography.

Scientific literature

We collect specialised literature on human geography and more general works on physical geography, for example climate change. In addition to monographs on regional geography we hold travel journals, travel guides and a selection of books of illustrations. Our spatial planning collection includes literature on urban planning and horticulture.

History of cartography

We collect everything related to the history of cartography and cartographers, from general overviews to research literature. With over 8,000 volumes, the Zentralbibliothek holds the largest collection of literature on the subject anywhere in Switzerland. We have a wide range of illustrative material and background literature for your studies. You can also visit our Special Collection of maps.

Contact and services

We will be happy to assist you with your search for literature and provide expert information. If you have any questions relating to geography, cartography and spatial planning, contact:

Sie finden bei uns Grundlagenliteratur, Studienliteratur und allgemeine Darstellungen in den Bereichen Informatik und Mathematik, Biologie und Medizin, Astronomie, Chemie, Physik und Technik. Die Kartographie ist mit über 8000 Titeln unser Spezialgebiet im Bereich der Geographie. Erfahren Sie mehr in unseren Fachgebieten.

Fachgebiete

Informatik, Mathematik

Sie suchen eine Einführung in die Algebra oder in Java? Basisliteratur zur Informatik und Mathematik finden Sie in der Zentralbibliothek Zürich.

Wissenschaftliche Literatur

Wir stellen Ihnen Literatur zu allen Gebieten der Informatik, Mathematik und mathematischen Statistik zur Verfügung. Zusätzlich finden Sie bei uns Werke zur Geschichte der Fächer und auch populärwissenschaftliche Bücher.

Fachbibliotheken

Fachliteratur zur Informatik und Mathematik sammelt in Zürich vor allem die ETH-Bibliothek und die Hauptbibliothek (HBZ) der Universität Zürich. Individuelle Beratungen und Schulungen bietet die HBZ an.

Kontakt und Services

Sie haben eine Frage? Kontaktieren Sie für Informatik und Mathematik:

Astronomie, Chemie, Physik, Technik

Ob Astronomie, Chemie, Physik und Technik: Grundlegende Literatur zu diesen Fächern finden Sie in der Zentralbibliothek Zürich.

Wissenschaftliche Literatur

Wir stellen Ihnen Basis- und Studienliteratur zu allen Teilgebieten der Astronomie, Chemie, Physik und Technik zur Verfügung. Neben Werken zu historischen Aspekten bieten wir zudem eine Auswahl populärwissenschaftlicher Publikationen an.

Fachbibliotheken

Fachliteratur zur Astronomie, Chemie, Physik und Technik sammelt in Zürich vor allem die ETH-Bibliothek und die Hauptbibliothek (HBZ) der Universität Zürich. Individuelle Beratungen und Schulungen bietet die HBZ an.

Kontakt und Services

Sie haben eine Frage? Kontaktieren Sie für Astronomie, Chemie, Physik, Technik:

Biologie, Medizin

Warum singen Vögel? Wie wirken Faszien? Die Zentralbibliothek Zürich bietet Ihnen Basisliteratur zur Biologie und Medizin.

Wissenschaftliche Literatur

  • Im Fach Biologie sammeln wir bevorzugt Literatur zur Botanik, Zoologie und Anthropologie.
  • Im Fach Medizin bieten wir Ihnen neben der Schulmedizin auch Werke zur Alternativmedizin und eine Auswahl an Ratgebern zu gesundheitlichen Fragen.

Fachbibliotheken

Fachliteratur zur Biologie und Medizin sammelt in Zürich vor allem die ETH-Bibliothek und die Hauptbibliothek (HBZ) der Universität Zürich. Individuelle Beratungen und Schulungen bietet die HBZ an.

Kontakt und Services

Sie haben eine Frage? Kontaktieren Sie für Biologie und Medizin:

Geographie, Kartographie, Raumplanung

Zur Geographie gehören die Kartographie und die Raumplanung. In der Zentralbibliothek Zürich stehen die Humangeographie und die Geschichte der Kartographie im Fokus.

Wissenschaftliche Literatur

Wir sammeln vertiefende Schriften zur Humangeographie und allgemeinere Literatur zur physischen Geographie, etwa zum Klimawandel. Nebst länderkundlichen Monographien zählen Reiseberichte, Reiseführer und ausgewählte Bildbände zu unserem Angebot. Literatur zum Städte- und Gartenbau finden Sie in unserem Bestand zur Raumplanung.

Geschichte der Kartographie

intensiv sammeln wir alles zur Geschichte der Kartographie und zu Kartographen – von der allgemeinen Darstellung bis zur Forschungsliteratur. Mit über 8'000 Bänden bietet die Zentralbibliothek den landesweit grössten Bestand in diesem Fach. Sie finden bei uns vielfältiges Anschauungsmaterial und Grundlagen für Ihre Studien. Besuchen Sie auch unsere Spezialsammlung Karten und Panoramen.

Kontakt und Services

Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Literatursuche und geben gerne fachliche Auskunft. Sie haben eine Frage? Kontaktieren Sie für Geographie, Kartographie, Raumplanung: