What is EOD?

EOD is a Europe-wide digitisation service that allows anyone, anywhere in the world, to order complete digital copies of out-of-copyright books from various libraries on payment of a fee.

What is offered in the ZB Zürich?

All printed books held by the Zentralbibliothek Zürich that are out of copyright can be ordered via EOD. To keep things simple, that means all printed books published before 1900.

How can I order a book via EOD?

Owing to the changeover to swisscovery, the order link in the Rechercheportal is unavailable until further notice. If you would like to have a book digitised via EOD, please send an e-mail to fernleihe@zb.uzh.ch.

Is ordering via EOD restricted to ZB users?

EOD orders are not linked to a library account. Anyone, anywhere in the world, can order digitised copies via EOD.

How much does an order cost?

The basic fee is CHF 10. Each page scanned costs an additional CHF 0.20. Since the page information in the catalogue is not always reliable (e.g. the table of contents is not counted or the information merely states “Vol. 1”), you will initially receive a non-binding cost estimate after you place your order. Once digitisation is complete, you can pay by credit card, via PayPal or on account.

How long does an order take?

Once the cost estimate has been confirmed, the delivery time is no more than 14 days.

Can I buy a printed copy of the book?

You can order a reprint of the work (printed with perfect binding) in addition to the digitised version. To do this, select “Reprint” when placing your order. The basic fee (in addition to the digitised version) is CHF 9 plus CHF 0.03 per page (minimum 24 pages). Thereafter, further copies can be ordered via Amazon.

The EOD network

EOD is a network of around 40 libraries from all over Europe. Members in Switzerland include the ZB Zürich, the National Library, Bibliothek am Guisanplatz, the Bern and Basel university libraries, the Museumsgesellschaft Zürich, the Pestalozzianum Research Library and the libraries of the City of Schaffhausen. Further information can be found on the EOD website.

Contact

Interlibrary loans

fernleihe@zb.uzh.ch

Was ist EOD?

EOD ist ein europaweiter Digitalisierungs-Service. EOD ermöglicht es allen Interessierten weltweit, in diversen Bibliotheken urheberrechtsfreie Bücher gegen Bezahlung vollständig digitalisieren zu lassen.

Was wird in der ZB Zürich angeboten?

Über EOD bestellbar sind alle gedruckten Bücher aus dem Bestand der Zentralbibliothek Zürich, bei denen das Urheberrecht abgelaufen ist. Der Einfachheit halber sind dies alle gedruckten Bücher, die vor 1900 erschienen sind.

Wie kann ein Werk über EOD bestellt werden?

Aufgrund der Umstellung auf swisscovery steht der Bestelllink im Rechercheportal bis auf Weiteres nicht zur Verfügung. Möchten Sie ein Werk über EOD digitalisieren lassen, wenden Sie sich bitte per E-Mail an fernleihe@zb.uzh.ch.

Können nur ZB-Benutzende über EOD bestellen?

EOD-Bestellungen sind unabhängig vom Bibliothekskonto. Alle Personen weltweit können über EOD Digitalisate bestellen.

Was kostet eine Bestellung?

Der Grundpreis beträgt CHF 10.-. Dazu werden pro gescannte Seite CHF 0.20 verrechnet. Da die Seitenangaben im Katalog nicht immer zuverlässig sind (z.B. Inhaltsverzeichnis etc. nicht mitgezählt oder Pauschalangaben wie «1 Band»), erhalten Sie nach der Bestellung zuerst einen unverbindlichen Kostenvoranschlag. Bezahlen können Sie nach erfolgter Digitalisierung mit Kreditkarte, via PayPal oder gegen Rechnung.

Wie lange dauert eine Bestellung?

Nach Bestätigung des Kostenvoranschlages beträgt die Lieferfrist maximal 14 Tage.

Kann ich das Buch auch gedruckt kaufen?

Sie können ergänzend zum Digitalisat einen Reprint des Werkes (gedruckt mit Klebebindung) bestellen. Dazu muss bei der Bestellung «Reprint» gewählt werden. Die Kosten (zusätzlich zum Digitalisat) betragen CHF 9.- Grundpreis und CHF 0.03 pro Seite (Minimum 24 Seiten). Weitere Kopien sind danach über Amazon bestellbar.

Das EOD-Netzwerk

Bei EOD handelt es sich um ein Netzwerk von rund 40 Bibliotheken in ganz Europa. In der Schweiz gehören neben der ZB Zürich die Nationalbibliothek, die Bibliothek am Guisanplatz, die UB Bern und die UB Basel, die Museumsgesellschaft Zürich, die Forschungsbibliothek Pestalozzianum sowie die Schaffhauser Stadtbibliotheken dazu. Mehr Informationen finden Sie auf der Webseite von EOD.

Weitere Fragen?

Bei Fragen ist das Fernleihteam der ZB Zürich gerne für Sie da: fernleihe@zb.uzh.ch